
79th Legislature 
VTR Bill Summaries 

 
 
Effective Immediately: 
HB 0120 - The creation of an organ donor education, awareness, and registry program; the 
establishment of an organ donor and tissue council; and the establishment of a voluntary $1 
fee collected at the time of initial and renewal of motor vehicle registration. 
 
HB 1596 - Regulates motor-assisted scooters by amending the TRC to define “motor-
assisted scooter” and also provides for their operation on roadways or sidewalks. 
 
Under the bill, a new section (TRC, 551.351) is added to define motor-assisted scooter as a 
self-propelled device with at least two wheels in contact with the ground during operation, a 
braking system capable of stopping the device, a gas or electric motor not exceeding 40 
cubic centimeters, a deck designed to allow a person to stand or sit, and the ability to be 
propelled by human power alone. 
 
Also, Section 551.352, TRC, is added to regulate scooter operation on roadways or 
sidewalks.  A motor-assisted scooter may be operated only on a street or highway where 
the posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less.  A scooter may cross a road at an 
intersection where the posted speed limit exceeds 35 mph. 
 
HB 1735 - The distribution of souvenir special license plate fees is changed and 
organizations who have special license plate programs may purchase bulk orders of 
souvenir license plates for their use or resale. 
 
HB 2481 - Relates to the continuation and provisions of the Texas Emissions Reduction 
Plan (TERP) and the use of money currently dedicated to the TERP Fund. 
 
This legislation provides that title applicants who reside in a nonattainment county 
designated by law as an affected county shall continue to pay a title application fee of $33 
until August 31, 2010.  Beginning September 1, 2010, the title fee for all counties in the 
state will be $28.   
 
$15 of the title application fee, which is collected prior September 1, 2008, will continue to 
be distributed to the TERP Fund.  On or after September 1, 2008, $10 of this fee will be 
distributed to the Texas Mobility Fund and $5 will continue to be distributed to the TERP 
Fund through September 1, 2010. 
 
Additionally, this legislation extends the expiration date for the collection of the  
2.5 percent and 1 percent emissions surcharge from September 1, 2008 to  
September 1, 2010, and extends the expiration date for the collection of the 10 percent 
registration emissions surcharge from August 31, 2008 to August 31, 2010. 
 
For information concerning TERP, contact TCEQ Media Relations at (512) 239-5000. 
 
For information concerning motor vehicle taxes and surcharges, contact the Texas 
Comptroller for Public Accounts Media Relations at (512) 463-4070. 
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Effective Immediately: continued 
HB 2702 - Allows the Texas Transportation Commission to authorize TxDOT to contract 
with a private vendor to produce and distribute vehicle registration renewals, along with the 
inclusion of paid advertising; the bill also clarifies the definition of motor assisted scooter 
while creating a new definition for pocket bike or minimotorbike. 
 
Under HB 2702, a motor assisted scooter does not include a pocket bike or minimotorbike, 
which is defined in Sec. 551.301, TRC, as a self-propelled vehicle equipped with an electric 
motor or internal combustion engine having a piston displacement of less than 50 cubic 
centimeters.  Also, such a vehicle is designed to propel itself with not more than two wheels 
in contact with the ground, has a seat or saddle for the use of the operator, is not designed 
for use on a highway, and is ineligible for a certificate of title. 
 
Finally, Subchapter D, Chapter 551, TRC, is amended by adding Sec. 551.304 to prevent 
the operation of a pocket bike or minimotorbike on any highway, road, or street; a path set 
aside for the exclusive operation of bicycles; or a sidewalk. 
 
HB 2894 - Requires the Texas Department of Transportation to enter into a contract with 
the private vendor whose proposal is most advantageous to the state, for the marketing and 
sale of personalized license plates; or with the agreement of the private vendor to market 
other specialty license plates. 
 
HB 2509 - Authorizes municipal courts to have concurrent jurisdiction for actions brought by 
the attorney general, or district or city attorney to enforce certain dealer and manufacturer’s 
license plate laws (violations under Chapter 503, Transportation Code). 
 
HB 2593 - Procedures and fees for Texas Online project, to include actions with the vendor, 
are defined.   
 
HB 2793 - Requires each manufacturer of vehicles in this state, individually or as a group, 
to implement a program for the recovery, management and collection of convenience 
switches removed from end of life motor vehicles.  The convenience switch removal plan 
will be managed by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. 
 
SB 0280 - Changed the meaning of an “Automotive wrecking and salvage yard” to 
“...remove parts for sale or for use in [an] automotive repair or rebuilding [business].” and 
provides for an injunction to prohibit a violation or threatened violation by an automotive 
wrecking and salvage yard. 
 
Minimal Impact: 
HB 0178 – Allows an election officer to access electronically readable information on a 
driver's license or personal identification card for the purpose of establishing the identity of a 
voter. 
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Minimal Impact: continued 
HB 0480 - Addresses the payment of certain expenses for towed and stored vehicles by law 
enforcement, owner access to a stored vehicle, and the forms of payment a storage facility 
must accept. 
 
HB 0809 - Exempts an individual who owns and is the primary operator of one or more 
passenger cars or light trucks in the course of the individual's occupation or profession and 
also operates those vehicles for personal activities that do not involve the production of 
income from the requirement of rendering the vehicles for ad valorem taxes. 
 
HB 0925 - Creates a Border Inspection, Trade, and Transportation Advisory Committee; 
members include a representative of TxDOT.  Creates the Texas-Mexico Strategic 
Investment Commission; members include the Executive Director of TxDOT or a designee.  
Creates an Interagency Work Group on Border Issues; members include the head of the 
agency or a designee.  
 
HB 1130 - States, under the Business and Commerce Code, that a person (business) may 
not require an individual (consumer) to disclose the individual's social security number 
unless the person adopts a privacy policy and makes the privacy policy available to the 
individual. 
 
HB 2495 - Requires a public auction, which holds a general dealer distinguishing number, 
to take assignment of a motor vehicle title before transferring the title to a buyer.  The dealer 
must transfer the title to the buyer before the 21st day after the day of sale. 
 
HB 2630 - Procedures regarding removal and storage of motor vehicles. 
 
HB 3221 - Records of certain vehicle repairs, sales, and purchases. 
 
SB 0213 - More Spanish language content available online. 
 
SB 1311 - Requires the establishment of an off-highway vehicle trail and recreational area 
program, under the Parks and Wildlife Code. 
 



H.B.ANo.A120

AN ACT

relating to the creation of a donor education, awareness, and

registry program, the establishment of an organ donor and tissue

council, and anatomical gift donation.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASections 521.401(b), (c), and (d),

Transportation Code, are amended to read as follows:

(b)AAThe statement of gift may be shown on a donor’s driver’s

license or personal identification certificate or by a card

designed to be carried by the donor to evidence the donor ’s

intentions with respect to organ, tissue, and eye donation. A donor

card signed by the donor shall be given effect as if executed

pursuant to Section 692.003(d), Health and Safety Code.

(c)AADonor cards shall be provided to the department by

qualified organ or tissue procurement organizations or eye banks,

as those terms are defined in Section 692.002, Health and Safety

Code, or by the Donor Education, Awareness, and Registry Program of

Texas established under Chapter 49, Health and Safety Code. The

department shall:

(1)AAprovide to each applicant for the issuance of an

original, renewal, corrected, or duplicate driver ’s license or

personal identification certificate who applies in person, by mail,

over the Internet, or by other electronic means:

(A)AAthe opportunity to indicate on the person ’s
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driver’s license or personal identification certificate that the

person is willing to make an anatomical gift, in the event of death,

in accordance with Section 692.003, Health and Safety Code; and

(B)AAan opportunity for the person to consent in

writing to the department’s provision of the person’s name, date of

birth, driver’s license number, most recent address, and other

information needed for identification purposes at the time of

donation to the organization selected by the commissioner of state

health services under Chapter 49, Health and Safety Code, for

inclusion in the statewide Internet-based registry of organ,

tissue, and eye donors and for release to qualified organ, tissue,

and eye bank organizations; and

(2)AAprovide a means to distribute donor cards to

interested individuals in each office authorized to issue driver ’s

licenses or personal identification certificates[. The department

and other appropriate state agencies, in cooperation with qualified

organ, tissue, and eye bank organizations shall pursue the

development of a combined statewide database of donors].

(d)AAAn [Effective September 1, 1997, a statement of gift on

driver’s licenses or personal identification certificates shall

have no force and effect, provided, however, that an] affirmative

statement of gift on a person’s driver’s license or personal

identification certificate executed after August 31, 2005 [prior to

September 1, 1997], shall be conclusive evidence of a decedent ’s

status as a donor and serve as consent for organ, tissue, and eye

removal.

SECTIONA2.AASection 521.402, Transportation Code, is amended
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by amending Subsection (a) and adding Subsection (c) to read as

follows:

(a)AATo revoke an affirmative statement of gift on a person ’s

driver’s license or personal identification certificate [made

prior to September 1, 1997], a person must apply to the department

for an amendment to the license or certificate.

(c)AATo have a person’s name deleted from the statewide

Internet-based registry of organ, tissue, and eye donors maintained

as provided by Chapter 49, Health and Safety Code, a person must

provide written notice to the organization selected by the

commissioner of state health services under that chapter to

maintain the registry directing the deletion of the person’s name

from the registry. On receipt of a written notice under this

subsection, the organization shall promptly remove the person ’s

name and information from the registry.

SECTIONA3.AASection 521.403, Transportation Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A521.403.AAINFORMATION PROVIDED TO HOSPITAL. The donor

card of a person who is involved in an accident or other trauma

shall accompany the person to the hospital or other health care

facility. The driver’s license or personal identification

certificate [issued prior to September 1, 1997,] indicating an

affirmative statement of gift of a person who is involved in an

accident or other trauma[,] shall accompany the person to the

hospital or health care facility if the person does not have a donor

card.

SECTIONA4.AAChapter 49, Health and Safety Code, is amended to
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read as follows:

CHAPTER 49. DONOR EDUCATION, AWARENESS, AND REGISTRY

[ANATOMICAL GIFT EDUCATIONAL] PROGRAM OF TEXAS

Sec.A49.001.AADEFINITIONS [DEVELOPMENT AND IMPLEMENTATION

OF PROGRAM]. In this chapter:

(1)AA"Commissioner" means the commissioner of state

health services.

(2)AA"Department" means the Department of State Health

Services.

(3)AA"Registry program" means the Donor Education,

Awareness, and Registry Program of Texas.

Sec.A49.002.AAESTABLISHMENT OF PROGRAM. (a)AAIn

consultation with the Department of Public Safety and organ

procurement organizations, the department shall establish the

Donor Education, Awareness, and Registry Program of Texas.

(b)AAThe department shall enter into an agreement with an

organization selected by the commissioner under a competitive

proposal process for the establishment and maintenance of a

statewide Internet-based registry of organ, tissue, and eye donors.

Contingent on the continued availability of appropriations under

Subsection (h), the term of the initial agreement is two years and

may be renewed for two-year terms thereafter unless terminated in a

written notice to the other party by the department or organization

not later than the 180th day before the last day of a term.

(c)AAThe Department of Public Safety at least monthly shall

electronically transfer to the organization selected by the

commissioner as provided by Subsection (b) the name, date of birth,
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driver’s license number, most recent address, and any other

relevant information in the possession of the Department of Public

Safety for any person who indicates on the person ’s driver’s license

application under Section 521.401, Transportation Code, that the

person would like to make an anatomical gift and consents in writing

to the release of the information by the Department of Public Safety

to the organization for inclusion in the statewide Internet-based

registry of organ, tissue, and eye donors.

(d)AAThe contract between the department and the

organization selected by the commissioner as provided by Subsection

(b) must require the organization to:

(1)AAmake information obtained from the Department of

Public Safety under Subsection (c) available to qualified organ,

tissue, and eye bank organizations;

(2)AAallow potential donors to submit information in

writing directly to the organization for inclusion in the statewide

Internet-based registry of organ, tissue, and eye donors;

(3)AAmaintain the statewide Internet-based registry of

organ, tissue, and eye donors in a manner that allows qualified

organ, tissue, and eye bank organizations to immediately access

organ, tissue, and eye donation information 24 hours a day, seven

days a week, through electronic and telephonic methods; and

(4)AAprotect the confidentiality and privacy of the

individuals providing information to the statewide Internet-based

registry, regardless of the manner in which the information is

provided.

(e)AAExcept as otherwise provided by Subsection (d)(3) or
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this subsection, the Department of Public Safety, the organization

selected by the commissioner under Subsection (b), or a qualified

organ, tissue, and eye bank organization may not sell, rent, or

otherwise share any information provided to the registry. A

qualified organ, tissue, and eye bank organization may share any

information provided to the registry with an organ procurement

organization or a health care provider or facility providing

medical care to a potential donor as necessary to properly identify

an individual at the time of donation.

(f)AAThe Department of Public Safety, the organization

selected by the commissioner under Subsection (b), or the qualified

organ, tissue, and eye bank organizations may not use any

demographic or specific data provided to the registry for any

fund-raising activities. Data may only be transmitted from the

selected organization to qualified organ, tissue, and eye bank

organizations through electronic and telephonic methods using

secure, encrypted technology to preserve the integrity of the data

and the privacy of the individuals providing information.

(g)AAIn each office authorized to issue driver ’s licenses or

personal identification certificates, the Department of Public

Safety shall make available educational materials developed by the

Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council established under

Chapter 113.

(h)AAThe Department of Public Safety shall remit to the

comptroller the money collected under Sections 521.421(g) and

521.422(c), Transportation Code, as provided by those subsections.

A county assessor-collector shall remit to the comptroller any
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money collected under Section 502.1745, Transportation Code, as

provided by that section. Money remitted to the comptroller in

accordance with this subsection that is appropriated to the

department must be spent in accordance with the priorities

established by the department in consultation with the Texas Organ,

Tissue, and Eye Donor Council to pay the costs of:

(1)AAmaintaining, operating, and updating the

statewide Internet-based donor registry and establishing

procedures for an individual to be added to the registry; and

(2)AAdesigning and distributing education materials

for prospective donors as required under this section.

(i)AAAny additional money over the amount necessary to

accomplish the purposes of Subsections (h)(1) and (2) may be used by

the department to provide education under this chapter or may be

awarded using a competitive grant process to organizations to

conduct organ, eye, and tissue donation education activities in

this state. A member of the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor

Council may not receive a grant under this subsection.

(j)AAThe department shall require the organization selected

under Subsection (b) to submit an annual written report to the

department that includes:

(1)AAthe number of donors listed on the registry;

(2)AAchanges in the number of donors listed on the

registry; and

(3)AAthe demographic characteristics of listed donors,

to the extent the characteristics may be determined from

information provided on donor registry forms submitted by donors to
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the organization.

(k)AATo the extent funds are available and as part of the

registry program, the [(a)AAThe] department shall [develop a

program to] educate residents about anatomical gifts. The program

shall include information about:

(1)AAthe laws governing anatomical gifts, including

Subchapter Q, Chapter 521, Transportation Code, and Chapter 692;

(2)AAthe procedures for becoming an organ, eye, or

tissue donor or donee; and

(3)AAthe benefits of organ, eye, or tissue donation.

(l)A[(b)]AAIn developing the program, the department in

consultation with the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council

shall solicit broad-based input reflecting recommendations of all

interested groups, including representatives of patients,

providers, ethnic groups, and geographic regions.

(m)AAIn consultation with the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye

Donor Council, the department may implement a training program for

all appropriate Department of Public Safety and Texas Department of

Transportation employees on the benefits of organ, tissue, and eye

donation and the procedures for individuals to be added to the

statewide Internet-based registry of organ, tissue, and eye donors.

The department shall implement the training program before the date

that the statewide Internet-based registry is operational and shall

conduct the training on an ongoing basis for new employees.

Sec. 49.003A[(c)AAThe department shall implement the program

only to the extent that funds are available from Section 521.421(g)

or 521.422(c), Transportation Code.
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[Sec.A49.002].AAEDUCATION FOR HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS AND

ATTORNEYS. (a)AAThe department shall develop a program to educate

health care providers and attorneys in this state regarding

anatomical gifts.

(b)AAThe department through the program shall encourage

attorneys to provide organ donation information to clients seeking

legal advice for end-of-life decisions.

(c)AAThe department shall encourage medical schools and

nursing schools in this state to include mandatory organ donation

education in the schools’ curriculums.

(d)AAThe department shall encourage medical schools in this

state to require a physician in a neurology or neurosurgery

residency program to complete an advanced course in organ donation

education.

[(e)AAThe department shall implement the program only to the

extent that:

[(1)AAfunds are available from Section 521.421(g) or

521.422(c), Transportation Code;

[(2)AAmoney or in-kind donations are donated to the

department for the purpose of implementing the program; or

[(3)AAthe legislature specifically appropriates money

from another source for the purpose of implementing the program.]

SECTIONA5.AASubtitle E, Title 2, Health and Safety Code, is

amended by adding Chapter 113 to read as follows:

CHAPTER 113. TEXAS ORGAN, TISSUE, AND EYE DONOR COUNCIL

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec.A113.001.AADEFINITIONS. In this chapter:
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(1)AA"Council" means the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye

Donor Council.

(2)AA"Commissioner" means the commissioner of state

health services.

(3)AA"Department" means the Department of State Health

Services.

(4)AA"Public safety director" means the public safety

director of the Department of Public Safety.

Sec.A113.002.AASUNSET PROVISION; ABOLISHMENT. The Texas

Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council is subject to Chapter 325,

Government Code (Texas Sunset Act). Unless continued in existence

as provided by that chapter, the council is abolished and this

chapter expires September 1, 2017, unless the department and the

council mutually determine that the public interest is best served

by abolition of the council and agree to abolish the council on an

earlier date.

[Sections 113.003-113.050 reserved for expansion]

SUBCHAPTER B. COUNCIL

Sec.A113.051.AACOMPOSITION OF COUNCIL. (a)AAThe council is

composed of:

(1)AAa representative of the department appointed by

the commissioner;

(2)AAa representative of the Department of Public

Safety appointed by the public safety director;

(3)AAa representative of the Texas Department of

Transportation appointed by the executive director of that agency;

(4)AAfive professional members appointed by the
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commissioner as follows:

(A)AAone representative from each of the state ’s

three federally qualified organ procurement organizations

nominated by each organization;

(B)AAone representative who is a transplant

physician or nurse licensed in this state; and

(C)AAone representative of an acute care hospital

in this state; and

(5)AAtwo public members appointed by the commissioner.

(b)AAA public member of the council must:

(1)AAbe a donor, recipient, or member of a donor ’s

family; and

(2)AAbe selected from a pool of members compiled from

the recommendations of the following nonprofit organizations in the

field of transplantation and organ donor education:

(A)AAthe Texas Medical Association;

(B)AAthe Texas Transplantation Society;

(C)AAthe Transplant Nurses’ Association;

(D)AAthe National Kidney Foundation;

(E)AAthe National Minority Organ Tissue

Transplant Education Program; and

(F)AAthe American Society of Minority Health and

Transplant Professionals.

(c)AAA member of the council who is a representative of an

agency of this state is a nonvoting member of the council.

(d)AAAppointments to the council shall be made without regard

to the race, color, disability, sex, religion, age, or national
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origin of the appointee.

Sec.A113.052.AAMEMBERSHIP ELIGIBILITY. A person is not

eligible for appointment as a professional or public member of the

council if the person or the person’s spouse:

(1)AAis employed by or participates in the management

of a business entity or other organization receiving funds from the

council or from the department regarding a matter on which the

council advises the department;

(2)AAowns or controls, directly or indirectly, more

than a 10 percent interest in a business entity or other

organization receiving funds from the council or from the

department regarding a matter on which the council advises the

department; or

(3)AAuses or receives a substantial amount of tangible

goods, services, or funds from the council or from the department

regarding a matter on which the council advises the department,

other than compensation or reimbursement authorized by law for

council membership, attendance, or expenses.

Sec.A113.053.AATERMS; VACANCY. (a)AACouncil members

appointed by the commissioner serve for staggered six-year terms,

with the terms of two or three members, as applicable, expiring

February 1 of each odd-numbered year.

(b)AAA council member appointed as a representative of an

agency serves at the will of the appointing agency.

(c)AAIf a vacancy occurs, the commissioner or other

appropriate appointing authority shall appoint a person, in the

same manner as the original appointment, to serve for the remainder

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

H.B.ANo.A120

12



of the unexpired term.

(d)AAAn appointed member may not serve more than one term

consecutively.

Sec.A113.054.AAPRESIDING OFFICER. The commissioner shall

designate a public member of the council as the presiding officer of

the council to serve in that capacity at the will of the

commissioner.

Sec.A113.055.AAGROUNDS FOR REMOVAL. (a)AAIt is a ground for

removal from the council that a member:

(1)AAdoes not have at the time of taking office the

qualifications required by this chapter;

(2)AAdoes not maintain during service on the council

the qualifications required by this chapter;

(3)AAcannot, because of illness or disability,

discharge the member’s duties for a substantial part of the member ’s

term; or

(4)AAis absent from more than half of the regularly

scheduled council meetings that the member is eligible to attend

during a calendar year without an excuse approved by a majority vote

of the council.

(b)AAThe validity of an action of the council is not affected

by the fact that it is taken when a ground for removal of a council

member exists.

(c)AAIf the commissioner has knowledge that a potential

ground for removal exists, the commissioner shall notify the

presiding officer of the council of the potential ground. The

presiding officer shall then notify the attorney general that a
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potential ground for removal exists. If the potential ground for

removal involves the presiding officer, the director shall notify

the next highest ranking officer or most senior member of the

council, who shall then notify the attorney general that a

potential ground for removal exists.

Sec.A113.056.AAMEETINGS; QUORUM. (a)AAThe council shall

meet at least twice each calendar year and at the call of the

presiding officer.

(b)AAThe council shall adopt bylaws for the conduct of its

meetings.

(c)AAAny action taken by the council requires two-thirds of

the members to be present and the action must be approved by a

majority of the members present.

Sec.A113.057.AACOMPENSATION. (a)AAA member of the council

may not receive compensation for service on the council.

(b)AAA member shall be reimbursed for the member ’s actual and

necessary expenses for meals, lodging, transportation, and

incidental expenses incurred while performing council business,

subject to any applicable limitation on reimbursement prescribed by

the General Appropriations Act.

Sec.A113.058.AAINFORMATION ABOUT STANDARDS OF CONDUCT. The

commissioner or the commissioner ’s designee shall provide to

members of the council, as often as necessary, information

regarding the requirements for membership on the council under this

chapter, including information regarding a person’s

responsibilities under laws relating to applicable standards of

conduct.
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[Sections 113.059-113.100 reserved for expansion]

SUBCHAPTER C. COUNCIL POWERS AND DUTIES

Sec.A113.101.AAGENERAL DUTIES. The council as required by

the department shall:

(1)AAadvise the department concerning the Donor

Education, Awareness, and Registry Program of Texas established

under Chapter 49;

(2)AAadvise the department on priorities for the

initiatives to be implemented under the Donor Education, Awareness,

and Registry Program of Texas established under Chapter 49;

(3)AAadvise the department regarding donor education,

awareness, and registry outreach specifically targeted at African

American and Hispanic populations;

(4)AAadvise the commissioner, public safety director,

and director of the Texas Department of Transportation on the

allocation of money received by the comptroller for the activities

authorized under Chapter 49; and

(5)AAadvise the department, Department of Public

Safety, and the Texas Department of Transportation regarding

necessary performance standards and quality control measures

concerning the operation of the statewide Internet-based donor

registry, as well as related donor educational programs.

Sec.A113.102.AAREPORT. Before December 1 of each

even-numbered year, the council shall submit a report of the

council’s activities and recommendations to the governor,

lieutenant governor, speaker of the house of representatives, and

members of the legislature.
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Sec.A113.103.AAAUDIT. The financial transactions pertaining

to the council are subject to audit by the state auditor in

accordance with Chapter 321, Government Code.

Sec.A113.104.AACOSTS IN ADMINISTERING PROGRAM. Ten percent

of all money collected under Sections 521.421(g), 521.422(c), and

502.1745, Transportation Code, may be appropriated only to the

department to administer this chapter.

SECTIONA6.AASection 521.421(g), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(g)AAThe department shall collect an additional fee of $1 for

the issuance or renewal of a license, including a duplicate

license, a license issued to reflect an additional authorization or

a change in classification, or a license issued or renewed over the

Internet or by other electronic means, to pay the costs of the Donor

Education, Awareness, and Registry Program of Texas, established

under Chapter 49, Health and Safety Code, and, subject to Section

113.104, Health and Safety Code, of the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye

Donor Council, established under Chapter 113 [fund the anatomical

gift educational program established under Chapter 49], Health and

Safety Code, if the person applying for, [or] renewing, or changing

a license opts to pay the additional fee. The department shall

remit fees collected under this subsection to the comptroller, who

shall maintain the identity of the source of the fees. Subject to

appropriation, the department may retain three percent of the money

collected under this subsection to cover the costs in administering

this subsection.

SECTIONA7.AASection 521.422(c), Transportation Code, is
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amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThe department shall collect an additional fee of $1 for

the issuance or renewal of a personal identification card,

including a duplicate personal identification card or a personal

identification card issued or renewed over the Internet or by other

electronic means, to pay the costs of the Donor Education,

Awareness, and Registry Program of Texas, established under Chapter

49, Health and Safety Code, and, subject to Section 113.104, Health

and Safety Code, of the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council,

established under Chapter 113 [fund the anatomical gift educational

program established under Chapter 49], Health and Safety Code, if

the person applying for or renewing a personal identification card

opts to pay the additional fee. The department shall remit fees

collected under this subsection to the comptroller, who shall

maintain the identity of the source of the fees. Subject to

appropriation, the department may retain three percent of the money

collected under this subsection to cover the costs in administering

this subsection.

SECTIONA8.AASubchapter D, Chapter 502, Transportation Code,

is amended by adding Section 502.1745 to read as follows:

Sec.A502.1745.AAVOLUNTARY FEE. (a) The department shall

provide to each county assessor-collector the educational

materials for prospective donors provided as required by the Donor

Education, Awareness, and Registry Program of Texas under Chapter

49, Health and Safety Code. A county assessor-collector shall make

the educational materials available in each office authorized to

accept applications for registration of motor vehicles.
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(b)AAA county assessor-collector shall collect an additional

fee of $1 for the registration or renewal of registration of a motor

vehicle to pay the costs of the Donor Education, Awareness, and

Registry Program of Texas, established under Chapter 49, Health and

Safety Code, and of the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council,

established under Chapter 113, Health and Safety Code, if the

person registering or renewing the registration of a motor vehicle

opts to pay the additional fee. Notwithstanding any other

provision of this chapter, the county assessor-collector shall

remit all fees collected under this subsection to the comptroller,

who shall maintain the identity of the source of the fees.

(c)AAThree percent of all money collected under this section

may be appropriated only to the department to administer this

section.

SECTIONA9.AANotwithstanding any other provision of law, 25

percent of the money collected under Section 502.1745,

Transportation Code, as added by this Act, shall be deposited in the

state highway fund for the initial costs estimated to be incurred by

the Texas Department of Transportation in the state fiscal biennium

beginning September 1, 2005, to implement the changes in law made by

this Act.

SECTIONA10.AA(a)AAPromptly after this Act takes effect, the

following shall appoint a representative of their agency to serve

as a member of the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council:

(1)AAthe commissioner of state health services for the

Department of State Health Services;

(2)AAthe public safety director of the Department of
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Public Safety of the State of Texas; and

(3)AAthe executive director of the Texas Department of

Transportation.

(b)AAPromptly after this Act takes effect, the commissioner

of state health services shall appoint five professional and two

public members to the Texas Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donor Council.

In appointing the professional members, the commissioner shall

appoint one person to a term expiring February 1, 2007, two persons

to a term expiring February 1, 2009, and two persons to a term

expiring FebruaryA1, 2011. In appointing the public members, the

commissioner shall appoint one person to a term expiring February

1, 2007, and one person to a term expiring February 1, 2009.

SECTIONA11.AA(a)AAThe Department of State Health Services

shall contract with an organization for the establishment and

maintenance of a registry for organ, tissue, and eye donors in

accordance with Chapter 49, Health and Safety Code, as amended by

this Act, and ensure the organization establishes the registry not

later than SeptemberA1, 2006.

(b)AAThe Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas

must be in compliance with the changes in law made by this Act to

Subsection (g), Section 521.421, and Subsection (c), Section

521.422, Transportation Code, related to duplicate or changed

licenses or personal identification cards and related to

transactions conducted over the Internet or by other electronic

means not later than June 1, 2006.

SECTIONA12.AA(a)AAExcept as provided by Subsection (b) of

this section, this Act takes effect immediately if it receives a
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vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect SeptemberA1, 2005.

(b)AASection 8 of this Act takes effect SeptemberA1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 120 was passed by the House on May 4,

2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 145, Nays 0, 1 present, not

voting; and that the House concurred in Senate amendments to H.B.

No. 120 on May 27, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 140, Nays 0, 2

present, not voting.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 120 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A1596

AN ACT

relating to the regulation of motor-assisted scooters.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AAThe heading to Subchapter D, Chapter 551,

Transportation Code, is amended to read as follows:

SUBCHAPTER D. NEIGHBORHOOD ELECTRIC VEHICLES [AND MOTOR-ASSISTED

SCOOTERS]

SECTIONA2.AASection 551.301, Transportation Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A551.301.AADEFINITION [DEFINITIONS]. In this

subchapter,[:

[(1)]AA"neighborhood [Neighborhood] electric vehicle"

means a vehicle subject to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard

500 (49 C.F.R. Section 571.500).

[(2)AA"Motor assisted scooter" means a self-propelled

device with:

[(A)AAat least two wheels in contact with the

ground during operation;

[(B)AAa braking system capable of stopping the

device under typical operating conditions;

[(C)AAa gas or electric motor not exceeding 40

cubic centimeters;

[(D)AAa deck designed to allow a person to stand or

sit while operating the device; and
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[(E)AAthe ability to be propelled by human power

alone.]

SECTIONA3.AAChapter 551, Transportation Code, is amended by

adding Subchapter E to read as follows:

SUBCHAPTER E. MOTOR-ASSISTED SCOOTERS

Sec.A551.351.AADEFINITION. In this subchapter,

"motor-assisted scooter" means a self-propelled device with:

(1)AAat least two wheels in contact with the ground

during operation;

(2)AAa braking system capable of stopping the device

under typical operating conditions;

(3)AAa gas or electric motor not exceeding 40 cubic

centimeters;

(4)AAa deck designed to allow a person to stand or sit

while operating the device; and

(5)AAthe ability to be propelled by human power alone.

Sec.A551.352.AAOPERATION ON ROADWAYS OR SIDEWALKS. (a) A

motor-assisted scooter may be operated only on a street or highway

for which the posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less. The

motor-assisted scooter may cross a road or street at an

intersection where the road or street has a posted speed limit of

more than 35 miles per hour.

(b)AAA county or municipality may prohibit the operation of a

motor-assisted scooter on a street, highway, or sidewalk if the

governing body of the county or municipality determines that the

prohibition is necessary in the interest of safety.

(c)AAThe department may prohibit the operation of a
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motor-assisted scooter on a highway if it determines that the

prohibition is necessary in the interest of safety.

(d)AAA person may operate a motor-assisted scooter on a path

set aside for the exclusive operation of bicycles or on a sidewalk.

Except as otherwise provided by this section, a provision of this

title applicable to the operation of a bicycle applies to the

operation of a motor-assisted scooter.

(e)AAA provision of this title applicable to a motor vehicle

does not apply to a motor-assisted scooter.

SECTIONA4.AASection 551.302, Transportation Code, as added

by Chapter 1325, Acts of the 78th Legislature, Regular Session,

2003, is repealed.

SECTIONA5.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it receives

a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 1596 was passed by the House on April

6, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 145, Nays 0, 1 present, not

voting.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 1596 was passed by the Senate on May

25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAAA

APPROVED:AA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A1735

AN ACT

relating to souvenir license plates.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 504.003, Transportation Code, is amended

by amending Subsections (b) and (c) and adding Subsection (e) to

read as follows:

(b)AAThe fee for a single souvenir license plate is $20. The

fee shall be deposited to the credit of the state highway fund

unless the souvenir license plate is a replica of a specialty

license plate issued under Subchapter G or I for which the fee is

deposited to an account other than the state highway fund, in which

case:

(1)AA$10 of the fee for the souvenir license plate shall

be deposited to the credit of the designated account; and

(2)AA$10 of the fee for the souvenir license plate shall

be deposited to the credit of the state highway fund.

(c)AAIf the souvenir license plate is personalized, the fee

for the plate is $40. Of the fee:

(1)AA$20 shall be deposited to the credit of the state

highway fund; [and]

(2)AA$10 shall be deposited to the credit of the

designated account if the souvenir license plate is a replica of a

specialty license plate issued under Subchapter G or I for which the

fee is deposited to a designated account other than the state
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highway fund; and

(3)AAthe remainder shall be deposited to the credit of

the general revenue fund.

(e)AAA beneficiary of a specialty license plate issued under

Subchapter G or I, as designated by the applicable section of those

subchapters, may purchase the specialty license plates, in boxes of

25, for use or resale by the beneficiary. The beneficiary shall pay

the required fee per plate, less the amount of the fee that would be

deposited to the credit of the designated account.

SECTIONA2.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it receives

a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 1735 was passed by the House on April

14, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not

voting.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 1735 was passed by the Senate on May

19, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAAA

APPROVED:AA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A2481

AN ACT

relating to air contaminant emissions reductions, including the

continuation and provisions of the Texas emissions reduction plan

and the use of money currently dedicated to the Texas emissions

reduction plan fund.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 382.0172(c), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThe commission may authorize or allow substitution of

emissions reductions under Subsection (b) only if:

(1)AAreductions in emissions of one air contaminant for

which the area has been designated as nonattainment are substituted

for reductions in emissions of another air contaminant for which

the area has been designated as nonattainment; or [and]

(2)AAthe commission finds that the substitution will

clearly result in greater health benefits for the community as a

whole than would reductions in emissions at the original facility.

SECTIONA2.AASubchapter B, Chapter 382, Health and Safety

Code, is amended by adding Section 382.0173 to read as follows:

Sec.A382.0173.AAADOPTION OF RULES REGARDING CERTAIN STATE

IMPLEMENTATION PLAN REQUIREMENTS AND STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR

CERTAIN SOURCES. (a) The commission shall adopt rules to comply

with Sections 110(a)(2)(D) and 111(d) of the federal Clean Air Act

(42 U.S.C. Sections 7410 and 7411). In adopting the rules, at a
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minimum the commission shall adopt and incorporate by reference 40

C.F.R. Subparts AA through II and Subparts AAA through III of Part

96 and 40 C.F.R. Subpart HHHH of Part 60. The commission shall

adopt a state implementation plan in accordance with the rules and

submit the plan to the United States Environmental Protection

Agency for approval according to the schedules adopted by that

agency.

(b)AAThe commission may require emissions reductions in

conjunction with implementation of the rules adopted under

Subsection (a) only for electric generating units. The commission

shall make permanent allocations that are reflective of the

allocation requirements of 40 C.F.R. Subparts AA through HH and

Subparts AAA through HHH of Part 96 and 40 C.F.R. Subpart HHHH of

Part 60, as applicable, at no cost to units as defined in 40 C.F.R.

Section 51.123 and 60.4102 using the United States Environmental

Protection Agency’s allocation method as specified by Section

60.4142(a)(1)(i), as issued by that agency on May 12, 2005, or 40

C.F.R. Section 96.142(a)(1)(i), as issued by that agency on May 18,

2005, as applicable with the exception of nitrogen oxides which

shall be allocated according to the additional requirements of

Subsection (c). The commission shall maintain a special reserve of

allocations for new units commencing operation on or after January

1, 2001, as defined by 40 C.F.R. Subparts AA through HH and Subparts

AAA through HHH of Part 96 and 40 C.F.R. Subpart HHHH of Part 60, as

applicable with the exception of nitrogen oxides which shall be

allocated according to the additional requirements of Subsection

(c).
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(c)AAAdditional requirements regarding NOx allocations:

(1)AAThe commission shall maintain a special reserve of

allocations for nitrogen oxide of 9.5 percent for new units.

Beginning with the 2015 control period, units shall be considered

new for each control period in which they do not have five years of

operating data reported to the commission prior to the date of

allocation for a given control period. Prior to the 2015 control

period, units that commenced operation on or after January 1, 2001,

will receive NOx allocations from the special reserve only.

(2)AANitrogen oxide allowances shall be established for

the 2009-2014 control periods for units commencing operation before

January 1, 2001, using the average of the three highest amounts of

the unit’s adjusted control period heat input for 2000 through

2004, with the adjusted control period heat input for each year

calculated as follows:

(A)AAif the unit is coal-fired during the year,

the unit’s control period heat input for such year is multiplied by

90 percent;

(B)AAif the unit is natural gas-fired during the

year, the unit’s control period heat input for such year is

multiplied by 50 percent; and

(C)AAif the fossil fuel fired unit is not subject

to Subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph, the unit ’s control

period heat input for such year is multiplied by 30 percent.

(3)AABefore the allocation date specified by EPA for

the control period beginning January 1, 2016, and every five years

thereafter, the commission shall adjust the baseline for all
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affected units using the average of the three highest amounts of the

unit’s adjusted control period heat input for periods one through

five of the preceding seven control periods, with the adjusted

control period heat input for each year calculated as follows:

(A)AAfor units commencing operation before

January 1, 2001:

(i)AAif the unit is coal-fired during the

year, the unit’s control period heat input for such year is

multiplied by 90 percent;

(ii)AAif the unit is natural gas-fired

during the year, the unit’s control period heat input for such year

is multiplied by 50 percent; and

(iii)AAif the fossil fuel fired unit is not

subject to Subdivision (3)(A)(i) or (3)(A)(ii) of this

subparagraph, the unit’s control period heat input for such year is

multiplied by 30 percent.

(B)AAfor units commencing operation on or after

January 1, 2001, in accordance with the formulas set forth by USEPA

in 40 C.F.R. 96.142 with any corrections to this section that may be

issued by USEPA prior to the allocation date.

(d)AAThis section applies only while the federal rules cited

in this section are enforceable and does not limit the authority of

the commission to implement more stringent emissions control

requirements.

(e)AAIn adopting rules under Subsection (a), the commission

shall incorporate any modifications to the federal rules cited in

this section that result from a request for rehearing regarding
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those rules that is filed with the United States Environmental

Protection Agency or from a petition for review of those rules that

is filed with a court.

(f)AAThe commission shall take all reasonable and

appropriate steps to exclude the West Texas Region and El Paso

Region, as defined by Section 39.264(g), Utilities Code, from any

requirement under, derived from, or associated with 40 C.F.R.

Sections 51.123, 51.124, and 51.125, including filing a petition

for reconsideration with the United States Environmental

Protection Agency requesting that it amend 40 C.F.R. Sections

51.123, 51.124, and 51.125 to exclude such regions. The commission

shall promptly amend the rules it adopts under Subsection (a) of

this section to incorporate any exclusions for such regions that

result from the petition required under this subsection.

(g)AAThe commission shall study the availability of mercury

control technology. The commission shall also examine the timeline

for implementing the reductions required under the federal rules,

the cost of additional controls both to the plant owners and

consumers, and the fiscal impact on the state of higher levels of

mercury emissions between 2005 and 2018, and consider the impact of

trading on local communities. The commission shall report its

findings by September 1, 2006.

SECTIONA3.AASection 386.002, Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

Sec.A386.002.AAEXPIRATION. This chapter expires August 31,

2010 [2008].

SECTIONA4.AASection 386.053(c), Health and Safety Code, is
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amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThe commission shall make draft guidelines and criteria

available to the public and the United States Environmental

Protection Agency before the 30th [45th] day preceding the date of

final adoption and shall hold at least one public meeting to

consider public comments on the draft guidelines and criteria

before final adoption. The public meeting shall be held in the

affected state implementation plan area, and if the guidelines

affect more than one state implementation plan area, a public

meeting shall be held in each affected state implementation plan

area affected by the guidelines.

SECTIONA5.AASections 386.058(b) and (e), Health and Safety

Code, are amended to read as follows:

(b)AAThe governor shall appoint to the advisory board:

(1)AAa representative of the trucking industry;

(2)AAa representative of the air conditioning

manufacturing industry;

(3)AAa representative of the electric utility industry;

(4)AAa representative of regional transportation; and

(5)AAa representative of the nonprofit organization

described by Section 386.252(a)(2) [the Texas Council on

Environmental Technology].

(e)AAAppointed members of the advisory board serve staggered

four-year [two-year] terms, with the [. The] terms of seven or

eight appointed members expiring [expire] February 1 of each

[even-numbered year. The terms of eight appointed members expire

February 1 of each] odd-numbered year. An appointed member may be
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reappointed to a subsequent term.

SECTIONA6.AASection 386.102, Health and Safety Code, is

amended by adding Subsection (e) to read as follows:

(e)AATo improve the success of the program the commission:

(1)AAshall establish cost-effective limits for grants

awarded under the program to an owner or operator of a locomotive or

marine vessel that are lower than the cost-effectiveness limits

applied to other emissions reductions grants;

(2)AAshall determine the maximum amount of reductions

available from the locomotive and marine sectors and develop

strategies to facilitate the maximum amount of reductions in these

sectors; and

(3)AAshall include in the report required by Section

386.057(b) that is due not later than December 1, 2006, an analysis

of the cost-effectiveness of the grants in these sectors.

SECTIONA7.AASection 386.111(a), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAThe commission shall review an application for a grant

for a project authorized under this subchapter, including an

application for a grant for an infrastructure project, immediately

on receipt of the application. If the commission determines that an

application is incomplete, the commission shall notify the

applicant[, not later than the 15th working day after the date on

which the commission received the application,] with an explanation

of what is missing from the application. The commission shall

[record the date and time of receipt of each application the

commission determines to be complete and shall] evaluate the
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completed application according to the appropriate project

criteria. Subject to available funding, the commission shall make

a final determination on an application as soon as possible [and not

later than the 60th working day after the date the application is

determined to be complete].

SECTIONA8.AASection 386.116(d), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(d)AAThe [On or before December 1 of each even-numbered year,

the] commission shall include in the biennial plan report required

by Section 386.057(b) a report of commission actions and results

under this section [to the governor, lieutenant governor, and

speaker of the house of representatives].

SECTIONA9.AASubchapter C, Chapter 386, Health and Safety

Code, is amended by adding Section 386.117 to read as follows:

Sec.A386.117.AAREBATE GRANTS. (a) The commission shall

adopt a process for awarding grants under this subchapter in the

form of rebates to streamline the grant application, contracting,

reimbursement, and reporting processes for certain projects. The

process adopted under this section must:

(1)AAdesignate certain types of projects, such as

repowers, replacements, and retrofits, as eligible for rebates;

(2)AAproject standardized oxides of nitrogen emissions

reductions for each designated project type;

(3)AAassign a standardized rebate amount for each

designated project type;

(4)AAallow for processing rebates on an ongoing

first-come, first-served basis; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

H.B.ANo.A2481

8



(5)AAconsolidate, simplify, and reduce the

administrative work for applicants and the commission associated

with grant application, contracting, reimbursement, and reporting

processes for designated project types.

(b)AAThe commission may limit or expand the designated

project types as necessary to further the goals of the program.

(c)AAThe commission may award rebate grants as a pilot

project for a specific region or may award the grants statewide.

(d)AAThe commission may administer the rebate grants or may

designate another entity to administer the grants.

SECTIONA10.AASection 386.251(c), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThe fund consists of:

(1)AAthe amount of money deposited to the credit of the

fund [contributions, fees, and surcharges] under:

(A)AASection 386.056;

(B)AASections 151.0515 and 152.0215, Tax Code; and

(C)AASections 501.138, 502.1675, and 548.5055

[and 548.256(c)], Transportation Code; and

(2)AAgrant money recaptured under Section 386.111(d).

SECTIONA11.AASection 386.252(a), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAMoney in the fund may be used only to implement and

administer programs established under the plan and shall be

allocated as follows:

(1)AAfor the diesel emissions reduction incentive

program, 87.5 percent of the money in the fund, of which not more
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than 10 percent may be used for on-road diesel purchase or lease

incentives;

(2)AAfor the new technology research and development

program, 9.5 percent of the money in the fund, of which up to

$250,000 is allocated for administration, up to $200,000 is

allocated for a health effects study, $500,000 is to be deposited in

the state treasury to the credit of the clean air account created

under Section 382.0622 to supplement funding for air quality

planning activities in affected counties, [and] not less than 20

percent is to be allocated each year to support research related to

air quality for the Houston-Galveston-Brazoria and Dallas-Fort

Worth nonattainment areas by a nonprofit organization based in

Houston, and the balance is to be allocated each year to that

nonprofit organization based in Houston to be used to implement and

administer the new technology research and development program

under a contract with the commission for the purpose of

identifying, testing, and evaluating new emissions-reducing

technologies with potential for commercialization in this state and

to facilitate their certification or verification; and

(3)AAfor administrative costs incurred by the

commission and the laboratory, three percent of the money in the

fund.

SECTIONA12.AAEffective September 1, 2008, Section

386.252(a), Health and Safety Code, is amended to read as follows:

(a)AAMoney in the fund may be used only to implement and

administer programs established under the plan and shall be

allocated as follows:
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(1)AAfor the diesel emissions reduction incentive

program, 64 [87.5] percent of the money in the fund, of which not

more than 10 percent may be used for on-road diesel purchase or

lease incentives;

(2)AAfor the new technology research and development

program, 33 [9.5] percent of the money in the fund, of which up to

$250,000 is allocated for administration, up to $200,000 is

allocated for a health effects study, $500,000 is to be deposited in

the state treasury to the credit of the clean air account created

under Section 382.0622 to supplement funding for air quality

planning activities in affected counties, [and] not less than 10

[20] percent is to be allocated each year to support research

related to air quality for the Houston-Galveston-Brazoria and

Dallas-Fort Worth nonattainment areas by a nonprofit organization

based in Houston, not less than 25.5 percent is to be allocated each

year to that nonprofit organization based in Houston to be used to

implement and administer the new technology research and

development program under a contract with the commission for the

purpose of identifying, testing, and evaluating new

emissions-reducing technologies with potential for

commercialization in this state and to facilitate their

certification or verification, not more than $12,500,000 is to be

allocated each year from any excess funds to be administered by the

commission to fund a study of regional ozone formation in this

state, meteorological and chemical modeling, and issues related to

ozone formation by ozone precursors and fine particulate matter

formation in this state, and the balance is to be allocated each
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year to the commission to fund promising new technologies as

identified through the new technology research and development

program and recommended by that nonprofit organization based in

Houston in order to permit obtaining the maximum credits for

emissions reductions under the state’s air quality state

implementation plans; and

(3)AAfor administrative costs incurred by the

commission and the laboratory, three percent of the money in the

fund.

SECTIONA13.AASection 387.003(a), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAThe nonprofit organization described by Section

386.252(a)(2), under a contract with the commission as described by

that section[, in consultation with the Texas Council on

Environmental Technology], shall establish and administer a new

technology research and development program as provided by this

chapter.

SECTIONA14.AASection 387.005(a), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAGrants awarded under this chapter shall be directed

toward a balanced mix of:

(1)AAretrofit and add-on technologies to reduce

emissions from the existing stock of vehicles targeted by the Texas

emissions reduction plan;

(2)AAadvanced technologies for new engines and vehicles

that produce very-low or zero emissions of oxides of nitrogen,

including stationary and mobile fuel cells;
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(3)AAstudies to improve air quality assessment and

modeling; and

(4)AA[advanced technologies that promote increased

building and appliance energy performance; and

[(5)]AAadvanced technologies that reduce emissions

from other significant sources.

SECTIONA15.AASection 388.003(e), Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(e)AALocal amendments may not result in less stringent energy

efficiency requirements in nonattainment areas and in affected

counties than the energy efficiency chapter of the International

Residential Code or International Energy Conservation Code. Local

amendments must comply with the National Appliance Energy

Conservation Act of 1987 (42 U.S.C. Sections 6291-6309), as

amended. The laboratory, at the request of a municipality or

county, shall determine the relative impact of proposed local

amendments to an energy code, including whether proposed amendments

are substantially equal to or less stringent than the unamended

code. For the purpose of establishing uniform requirements

throughout a region, and on request of a council of governments, a

county, or a municipality, the laboratory may recommend a

climatically appropriate modification or a climate zone

designation for a county or group of counties that is different from

the climate zone designation in the unamended code. The laboratory

shall:

(1)AAreport its findings to the council, county, or

municipality, including an estimate of any energy savings potential
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above the base code from local amendments; and

(2)AAannually submit a report to the commission:

(A)AAidentifying the municipalities and counties

whose codes are more stringent than the unamended code, and whose

codes are equally stringent or less stringent than the unamended

code; and

(B)AAquantifying energy savings and emissions

reductions from this program.

SECTIONA16.AASection 389.003, Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

Sec.A389.003.AACOMPUTING ENERGY EFFICIENCY EMISSIONS

REDUCTIONS AND ASSOCIATED CREDITS. (a) The commission shall

develop a method to use in computing emissions reductions obtained

through energy efficiency initiatives, including renewable energy

initiatives, and the credits associated with those reductions.

(b)AAThe laboratory shall assist the commission and affected

political subdivisions in quantifying, as part of the state

implementation plan, credits for emissions reductions attributable

to energy efficiency programs, including renewable energy

programs.

SECTIONA17.AASection 151.0515(d), Tax Code, is amended to

read as follows:

(d)AAThis section expires September 30, 2010 [2008].

SECTIONA18.AASection 152.0215(c), Tax Code, is amended to

read as follows:

(c)AAThis section expires September 30, 2010 [2008].

SECTIONA19.AASection 501.138, Transportation Code, is
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amended by amending Subsections (a) and (b) and adding Subsections

(b-1), (b-2), and (b-3) to read as follows:

(a)AAAn applicant for a certificate of title, other than the

state or a political subdivision of the state, must pay the county

assessor-collector a fee of:

(1)AA$33 if the applicant ’s residence is a county

located within a nonattainment area as defined under Section 107(d)

of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7407), as amended,

or is an affected county, as defined by Section 386.001, Health and

Safety Code;

(2)AA$28 if the applicant ’s residence is any other

county; or

(3)AAon or after September 1, 2010 [2008], $28

regardless of the county in which the applicant resides.

(b)AAThe county assessor-collector shall send:

(1)AA$5 of the fee to the county treasurer for deposit

in the officers ’ salary fund;

(2)AA$8 of the fee to the department:

(A)AAtogether with the application within the time

prescribed by Section 501.023; or

(B)AAif the fee is deposited in an

interest-bearing account or certificate in the county depository or

invested in an investment authorized by Subchapter A, Chapter 2256,

Government Code, not later than the 35th day after the date on which

the fee is received; and

(3)AAthe following amount to the comptroller at the

time and in the manner prescribed by the comptroller:
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(A)AA$20 of the fee if the applicant ’s residence

is a county located within a nonattainment area as defined under

Section 107(d) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section

7407), as amended, or is an affected county, as defined by Section

386.001, Health and Safety Code;

(B)AA$15 of the fee if the applicant ’s residence

is any other county; or

(C)AAon or after September 1, 2010, $15 regardless

of the county in which the applicant resides.

(b-1)AAFees collected under Subsection (b) [this subsection]

to be sent to the comptroller shall be deposited as follows:

(1)A[(i)]AAbefore September 1, 2008, to the credit of

the Texas emissions reduction plan fund; and

(2)AAon or [(ii)] after September 1, 2008, to the credit

of the Texas Mobility Fund, except that $5 of each fee imposed under

Subsection (a)(1) and deposited on or after September 1, 2008, and

before September 1, 2010, shall be deposited to the credit of the

Texas emissions reduction plan fund.

(b-2)AAThe comptroller shall establish a record of the amount

of the fees deposited to the credit of the Texas Mobility Fund under

Subsection (b-1). On or before the fifth workday of each month, the

department shall remit to the comptroller for deposit to the credit

of the Texas emissions reduction plan fund an amount of money equal

to the amount of the fees deposited by the comptroller to the credit

of the Texas Mobility Fund under Subsection (b-1) in the preceding

month. The department shall use for remittance to the comptroller

as required by this subsection money in the state highway fund that
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is not required to be used for a purpose specified by Section 7-a,

Article VIII, Texas Constitution, and may not use for that

remittance money received by this state under the congestion

mitigation and air quality improvement program established under 23

U.S.C. Section 149.

(b-3)AAThis subsection and Subsection (b-2) expire September

1, 2010.

SECTIONA20.AASection 502.1675(c), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThis section expires August 31, 2010 [2008].

SECTIONA21.AASection 548.5055(c), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThis section expires August 31, 2010 [2008].

SECTIONA22.AASections 386.001(4), 386.057(e), 387.002, and

387.010, Health and Safety Code, and Sections 548.256(c) and (d),

Transportation Code, are repealed.

SECTIONA23.AAThe Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

shall prepare guidance documents for the rebate grants required by

Section 386.117, Health and Safety Code, as added by this Act, not

later than January 1, 2006.

SECTIONA24.AA(a) As soon as practicable on or after the

effective date of this Act, the governor shall appoint to the Texas

Emissions Reduction Plan Advisory Board a representative of the

nonprofit organization described by Section 386.252(a)(2), Health

and Safety Code, as required by Section 386.058(b), Health and

Safety Code, as amended by this Act, to replace the representative

of the Texas Council on Environmental Technology serving on that
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board on the effective date of this Act.

(b)AAAs soon as practicable on or after the effective date of

this Act, the governor, lieutenant governor, and speaker of the

house of representatives, by mutual agreement, shall designate the

terms of the appointed members of the Texas Emissions Reduction

Plan Advisory Board so that the terms of seven appointed members

expire on February 1, 2007, and the terms of eight appointed members

expire on February 1, 2009, as provided by Section 386.058(e),

Health and Safety Code, as amended by this Act.

SECTIONA25.AAExcept as otherwise provided by this Act, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2481 was passed by the House on April

28, 2005, by a non-record vote; and that the House concurred in

Senate amendments to H.B. No. 2481 on May 29, 2005, by a non-record

vote; and that the House adopted H.C.R. No. 248 authorizing certain

corrections in H.B. No. 2481 on May 30, 2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2481 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 20, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0; and that the Senate adopted H.C.R. No. 248 authorizing certain

corrections in H.B. No. 2481 on May 30, 2005, by a viva-voce vote.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA

H.B.ANo.A2481

19



H.B.ANo.A2509

AN ACT

relating to jurisdiction of a municipal court over an action to

enforce certain vehicle dealer and manufacturer license plate laws.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 503.092(b), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(b)AAA justice or municipal court has concurrent original

jurisdiction with the county court or a county court at law over an

action to enforce this chapter.

SECTIONA2.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it receives

a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2509 was passed by the House on May 9,

2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 144, Nays 0, 3 present, not

voting.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2509 was passed by the Senate on May

25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAAA

APPROVED:AA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A2593

AN ACT

relating to the TexasOnline project, the TexasOnline Authority, and

related powers and fees.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 2054.111(e), Government Code, is amended

to read as follows:

(e)AAA state agency or local government that uses the project

may charge a fee under Subchapter I if:

(1)AAthe fee is necessary to recover the actual costs

directly and reasonably incurred by the agency or local government

because of the project for:

(A)AAthe use of electronic payment methods; or

(B)AAinterfacing with other information

technology systems;

(2)AAthe fee does not include an amount to recover state

agency or local government employee costs;

(3)AAthe state agency or local government approves the

amount of the fee using the state agency ’s or local government’s

standard approval process for fee increases;

(4)AAthe chief financial officer for the state agency

or local government certifies that the amount of the fee is

necessary to recover the actual costs incurred because of the

project; and

(5)AAthe authority approves the amount of the fee.
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SECTIONA2.AASection 2054.1115(b), Government Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(b)AAThe state agency or local government may charge a

reasonable fee, as provided by Section 2054.111 or Subchapter I, to

recover costs incurred through electronic payment methods used

under this section.

SECTIONA3.AASections 2054.252(a) and (e), Government Code,

are amended to read as follows:

(a)AAThe authority shall implement a project designated

"TexasOnline" that establishes a common electronic infrastructure

through which state agencies and local governments, including

licensing entities, may electronically:

(1)AAsend and receive documents or required payments to

and from:

(A)AAmembers of the public;

(B)AApersons who are regulated by the agencies or

local governments; and

(C)AAthe agencies and local governments;

(2)AAreceive applications for original and renewal

licenses and permits, including occupational licenses, complaints

about occupational license holders, and other documents for filing

from members of the public and persons who are regulated by a state

agency or local government that, when secure access is necessary,

can be electronically validated by the agency, local government,

member of the public, or regulated person;

(3)AAsend original and renewal occupational licenses to

persons regulated by licensing entities;
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(4)AAsend profiles of occupational license holders to

persons regulated by licensing entities and to the public;

(5)AAstore information; and

(6)AAprovide and receive any other service to and from

the agencies and local governments or the public.

(e)AAThe authority shall charge fees to licensing entities as

provided by this subchapter in amounts sufficient to cover the cost

of implementing this section with respect to licensing entities.

The authority shall charge a subscription fee to be paid by each

licensing entity. The authority may not charge the subscription

fee until the service for which the fee is charged is available on

the Internet. If the authority determines that the transaction

costs exceed the maximum increase in occupational license issuance

or renewal fees allowed under Subsection (g), the authority may

also charge a reasonable convenience fee to be recovered from a

license holder who uses the project for online issuance or renewal

of a license.

SECTIONA4.AASection 2054.258, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec.A2054.258.AATRAINING FOR AUTHORITY MEMBERS. Not later

than six months after the date on which an authority member is

appointed, the member must complete training on the following:

(1)AAthe legislation that created the authority[, the

division,] and the project;

(2)AAthe department rules that relate to the authority

and the project;

(3)AAthe programs operated by the authority [and
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division];

(4)AAthe role and functions of the authority [and

division];

(5)AAthe current budget for the authority [and

division];

(6)AAthe results of the most recent formal audit of the

authority;

(7)AAthe requirements of:

(A)AAthe open meetings law, Chapter 551;

(B)AAthe public information law, Chapter 552;

(C)AAthe administrative procedure law, Chapter

2001; and

(D)AAother laws relating to public officials,

including conflict of interest laws; and

(8)AAany applicable ethics policies adopted by the

authority or the Texas Ethics Commission.

SECTIONA5.AASection 2054.259, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec.A2054.259.AAGENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES OF TEXASONLINE

AUTHORITY. The authority shall:

(1)AAdevelop policies related to operation of the

project;

(2)AAapprove or disapprove services to be provided by

the project;

(3)AAoperate and promote the project;

(4)AAoversee contract performance for the project;

(5)AAcomply with department financial requirements;
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(6)AAoversee money generated for the operation and

expansion of the project;

(7)AAdevelop project pricing policies, including

policies regarding any fees that a state agency, including the

authority, or a local government may charge for a transaction that

uses the project;

(8)AAevaluate participation in the project to determine

if performance efficiencies or other benefits and opportunities are

gained through project implementation;

(9)AAadvise the department about the project; and

(10)AAcoordinate with the department to receive

periodic security audits of the operational facilities of the

project.

SECTIONA6.AASubchapter I, Chapter 2054, Government Code, is

amended by adding Sections 2054.2591 and 2054.2595 to read as

follows:

Sec.A2054.2591.AAFEES. (a) The authority shall set fees

that a state agency, including the authority, or a local government

may charge for a transaction that uses the project. The authority

shall set fees at amounts sufficient to recover the direct and

indirect costs of the project and provide a reasonable rate of

return to the authority.

(b)AAThe authority shall charge a state agency or local

government a fee for all services provided to that entity.

(c)AAA fee set by the authority for using the project is in

addition to any other statutory fees. The revenue collected from

the fees must be used to support the project, including the recovery
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of project costs.

(d)AANo fee may be charged to a person authorized to file

electronically under Section 195.003, Local Government Code, for

filing, recording, access to, or electronic copies of a real

property record subject to the provisions of Chapter 195, Local

Government Code, except as provided in Section 195.006 or 195.007,

Local Government Code.

Sec.A2054.2595.AAFEE EXEMPTIONS. The authority may not

charge the State Board of Barber Examiners or the Texas Cosmetology

Commission a fee to use the project for the issuance or renewal of

an occupational license.

SECTIONA7.AASection 2054.260, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec.A2054.260.AAREPORTING REQUIREMENTS: AUTHORITY. (a)

Not later than September 1 of each even-numbered year, the

authority shall report on the status, progress, benefits, and

efficiency gains of the project. The authority shall provide the

report to:

(1)AAthe presiding officer of each house of the

legislature;

(2)AAthe chair of each committee in the legislature

that has primary jurisdiction over the department;

(3)AAthe governor; and

(4)AAeach state agency or local government

participating in the project.

(b)AANot later than September 1 of each even-numbered year,

the [As required by the department, the] authority shall report on
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[to the department regarding] financial matters, including project

costs and revenues. In addition, the

[(c)AAThe] authority shall report [to the department] on any

significant issues regarding contract performance on the project.

The authority shall report on additional financial or contract

performance matters as required by the department. The authority

shall provide the report to:

(1)AAthe department;

(2)AAthe presiding officer of each house of the

legislature; and

(3)AAthe chair of each committee in the legislature

that has primary jurisdiction over the department.

SECTIONA8.AASection 2054.265, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec.A2054.265.AASEPARATION OF RESPONSIBILITIES. The

authority shall develop and implement policies that clearly

separate the policymaking responsibilities of the authority and the

management responsibilities of the department [division].

SECTIONA9.AASubchapter I, Chapter 2054, Government Code, is

amended by adding Section 2054.272 to read as follows:

Sec.A2054.272.AAINDEPENDENT ANNUAL AUDIT.AA(a) Not later

than August 1 of each year, the vendor operating the TexasOnline

portal shall have an audit of the vendor ’s finances associated with

management and operation of the TexasOnline portal performed by an

independent certified public accountant selected by the state, paid

by the portal vendor.

(b)AANot later than August 15 of each year, the authority
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shall provide a copy of the audit report to:

(1)AAthe presiding officer of each house of the

legislature; and

(2)AAthe chair of each committee in the legislature

that has primary jurisdiction over the department.

(c)AAThe authority shall keep a copy of the audit report and

make the audit report available for inspection by any interested

person during regular business hours.

SECTIONA10.AASubchapter I, Chapter 2054, Government Code, is

amended by adding Section 2054.273 to read as follows:

Sec.A2054.273.AACOLLECTION AND FORWARDING OF FEES. (a) A

state agency or a vendor, as determined by the authority, shall

collect all fees charged to use the project. If a state agency

collects the fees charged to use the project, the state agency shall

forward the fees to the vendor, if the state has contracted with a

vendor under Section 2054.252(d). If the state has not contracted

with a vendor, the state agency shall forward to the state an amount

equal to the state ’s share of the fees. If a vendor collects or

receives the fees charged for use of the project, it shall forward

to the state an amount equal to the state ’s share of the fees as

provided by the vendor’s contract with the department.

(b)AAA person that pays a fee for using the project may

recover the fee in the ordinary course of business.

SECTIONA11.AASubchapter E, Chapter 548, Transportation Code,

is amended by adding Section 548.258 to read as follows:

Sec.A548.258.AAUSE OF TEXASONLINE. (a) In this section,

"TexasOnline" has the meaning assigned by Section 2054.003,
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Government Code.

(b)AAThe department may adopt rules to require an inspection

station to use TexasOnline to:

(1)AApurchase inspection certificates; or

(2)AAsend to the department a record, report, or other

information required by the department.

SECTIONA12.AAThe following laws are repealed:

(1)AASections 2054.251(2), 2054.264, and 2054.2645,

Government Code; and

(2)AASection 7, Chapter 342, Acts of the 77th

Legislature, Regular Session, 2001.

SECTIONA13.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it

receives a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each

house, as provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution.

If this Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate

effect, this Act takes effect on the 91st day after the last day of

the legislative session.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2593 was passed by the House on May

13, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 143, Nays 0, 2 present, not

voting; and that the House concurred in Senate amendments to H.B.

No. 2593 on May 27, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 140, Nays 0,

2 present, not voting.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2593 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 23, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 30, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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(2)AAthe proposed expansion involves the addition of

not more than 12 miles of track to the system.

SECTIONA2.85.AASubchapter D, Chapter 502, Transportation

Code, is amended by adding Section 502.1515 to read as follows:

Sec.A502.1515.AAOUTSOURCING PRODUCTION OF RENEWAL NOTICES;

PAID ADVERTISING. The commission may authorize the department to

enter into a contract with a private vendor to produce and

distribute motor vehicle registration renewal notices. The

contract may provide for the inclusion of paid advertising in the

registration renewal notice packet.

SECTIONA2.86.AASection 551.301, Transportation Code, is

amended by amending Subdivision (2) and adding Subdivision (3) to

read as follows:

(2)AA"Motor assisted scooter":

(A)AAmeans a self-propelled device with:

(i)A[(A)]AAat least two wheels in contact

with the ground during operation;

(ii)A[(B)]AAa braking system capable of

stopping the device under typical operating conditions;

(iii)A[(C)]AAa gas or electric motor not

exceeding 40 cubic centimeters;

(iv)A[(D)]AAa deck designed to allow a

person to stand or sit while operating the device; and

(v)A[(E)]AAthe ability to be propelled by

human power alone; and

(B)AAdoes not include a pocket bike or

minimotorbike.
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(3)AA"Pocket bike or minimotorbike" means a

self-propelled vehicle that is equipped with an electric motor or

internal combustion engine having a piston displacement of less

than 50 cubic centimeters, is designed to propel itself with not

more than two wheels in contact with the ground, has a seat or

saddle for the use of the operator, is not designed for use on a

highway, and is ineligible for a certificate of title under Chapter

501. The term does not include:

(A)AAa moped or motorcycle;

(B)AAan electric bicycle or motor-driven cycle, as

defined by Section 541.201;

(C)AAa motorized mobility device, as defined by

Section 542.009;

(D)AAan electric personal assistive mobility

device, as defined by Section 551.201; or

(E)AAa neighborhood electric vehicle.

SECTIONA2.87.AASubchapter D, Chapter 551, Transportation

Code, is amended by adding Section 551.304 to read as follows:

Sec.A551.304.AAAPPLICATION OF SUBCHAPTER TO POCKET BIKE OR

MINIMOTORBIKE. This subchapter may not be construed to authorize

the operation of a pocket bike or minimotorbike on any:

(1)AAhighway, road, or street;

(2)AApath set aside for the exclusive operation of

bicycles; or

(3)AAsidewalk.

SECTIONA2.88.AASection 101.022, Civil Practice and Remedies

Code, is amended to read as follows:
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H.B.ANo.A2793

AN ACT

relating to the removal and collection of convenience switches from

motor vehicles.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASubtitle B, Title 5, Health and Safety Code, is

amended by adding Chapter 375 to read as follows:

CHAPTER 375. REMOVAL OF CONVENIENCE SWITCHES

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec.A375.001.AADEFINITIONS. In this chapter:

(1)AA"Capture rate" means the annual number of

convenience switches removed, collected, and recovered, expressed

as a percentage of the number of convenience switches estimated to

be available for removal in that year from end-of-life vehicles.

(2)AA"Commission" means the Texas Commission on

Environmental Quality.

(3)AA"Convenience switch" means a capsule, commonly

known as a bullet, that:

(A)AAis part of a convenience light switch

assembly; and

(B)AAbecause of its mercury content, is the type

of switch subject to work practice standards promulgated by the

United States Environmental Protection Agency under Section 112 of

the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412).

(4)AA"Convenience switch recovery program" means a

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

1



program for removing, collecting, and recovering convenience

switches from end-of-life vehicles in accordance with Subchapter B.

(5)AA"Eligible vehicle" means a vehicle identified by

information provided by the manufacturer to the commission under

Section 375.051 as a vehicle that might contain a convenience

switch.

(6)AA"End-of-life vehicle" means a vehicle that:

(A)AAhas not been intentionally flattened,

crushed, shredded, or baled; and

(B)AAis sold, given, or otherwise conveyed to a

vehicle recycler or scrap metal recycling facility for the purpose

of recycling.

(7)AA"Executive director" means the executive director

of the commission.

(8)AA"Manufacturer" means:

(A)AAa person who is the last entity in the

production or assembly process of a new vehicle; or

(B)AAthe importer or domestic distributor of the

vehicle, in the case of an imported vehicle.

(9)AA"Scrap metal recycling facility" means a facility

at a fixed location that uses equipment to process and refabricate

scrap metal into prepared grades and principally produces scrap

iron, scrap steel, or nonferrous metallic scrap for sale.

(10)AA"Vehicle" means any automobile, station wagon,

truck, van, or sport utility vehicle with a gross vehicle weight

rating of less than 12,000 pounds.

(11)AA"Vehicle recycler" means a person engaged in the
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business of acquiring, dismantling, or preparing for recycling six

or more end-of-life vehicles in a calendar year for the primary

purpose of reselling the vehicles’ parts. The term includes a

salvage vehicle dealer licensed under Chapter 2302, Occupations

Code.

Sec.A375.002.AAAPPLICABILITY OF CHAPTER. (a) This chapter

applies only to:

(1)AAa manufacturer of vehicles sold in this state that

contain or contained convenience switches; and

(2)AAa vehicle recycler or scrap metal recycling

facility in this state.

(b)AAThe requirements of this chapter do not apply to a

manufacturer on or after the 10th anniversary of the date on which

the manufacturer last installed a convenience switch in a vehicle

sold in this state.

Sec.A375.003.AAEXPIRATION. This chapter expires August 31,

2015.

[Sections 375.004-375.050 reserved for expansion]

SUBCHAPTER B. CONVENIENCE SWITCH RECOVERY PROGRAM

Sec.A375.051.AAMANUFACTURER PROGRAM COMPONENTS. (a) Each

manufacturer of vehicles sold in this state, individually or as

part of a group, shall, not later than January 1, 2006, implement a

program that provides the following:

(1)AAinformation identifying that manufacturer’s

eligible vehicles, including:

(A)AAa description of the convenience switches

used by the manufacturer;
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(B)AAthe location on each vehicle of each

convenience switch;

(C)AAthe safe and environmentally sound methods

for removing a convenience switch from an end-of-life vehicle; and

(D)AAthe estimated number of convenience switches

available, for purposes of computing the capture rate;

(2)AAeducational materials to assist a vehicle recycler

or scrap metal recycling facility in following a safe and

environmentally sound method to remove convenience switches from

end-of-life vehicles, including educational materials on hazards

presented by the content of a convenience switch and the proper

handling of that content;

(3)AAmethods for recycling or disposing of the

manufacturer’s convenience switches, including the method of

packaging and shipping a convenience switch to an authorized

recycling, storage, or disposal facility; and

(4)AAmethods for the storage of a convenience switch

collected and recovered from an end-of-life vehicle if

environmentally appropriate recycling or disposal technologies are

not available.

(b)AATo the extent possible, a convenience switch recovery

program must use existing end-of-life vehicle infrastructure. If

that infrastructure is not used, the program must include reasons

for establishing a separate infrastructure.

Sec.A375.052.AAPACKAGING, SHIPPING, AND RECYCLING COSTS.

Each manufacturer, individually or as part of a group, shall pay the

costs of:
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(1)AApackaging and shipping of the manufacturer ’s

convenience switches to recycling, storage, or disposal

facilities; and

(2)AArecycling, storing, or disposing of the

manufacturer’s removed convenience switches.

Sec.A375.053.AACOSTS OF EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS. Each

manufacturer shall provide financing for:

(1)AAthe preparation of educational materials required

under Section 375.051; and

(2)AAthe distribution of those materials at workshops

that the commission is required to conduct as part of the

commission ’s technical assistance.

Sec.A375.054.AAPROVISION OF STORAGE CONTAINERS. Each

manufacturer, individually or as part of a group, shall pay for and

provide to each vehicle recycler and scrap metal recycling facility

containers suitable for the safe storage of convenience switches,

including switches encased in light assemblies from which the

switches cannot be removed.

[Sections 375.055-375.100 reserved for expansion]

SUBCHAPTER C. CONVENIENCE SWITCH RECOVERY PROGRAM IMPLEMENTATION

Sec.A375.101.AAREMOVAL AND MANAGEMENT OF CONVENIENCE

SWITCHES. (a) A vehicle recycler or scrap metal recycling facility

that removes convenience switches from eligible vehicles in

accordance with educational materials received under this chapter

shall be provided regulatory incentives by the commission under

programs implemented pursuant to Section 5.755, Water Code,

including on-site technical assistance and compliance history
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classification adjustments.

(b)AAIn order to qualify for the regulatory incentives

provided by this section, a vehicle recycler or scrap metal

recycling facility must submit a report to the commission by

November 15 of each year documenting:

(1)AAthe number of convenience switches collected

during the prior 12 months; and

(2)AAthe total number of eligible vehicles processed

for recycling during the same time period.

(c)AANothing in this chapter shall be construed to require

scrap metal recycling facilities or vehicle recyclers to remove

convenience switches or maintain records regarding convenience

switches they have not removed, and the commission shall not

promulgate regulations that create such requirements.

Sec.A375.102.AAHANDLING OF CONVENIENCE SWITCHES. After

removal from a vehicle, a convenience switch shall be collected,

stored, transported, and otherwise handled in accordance with:

(1)AAthe applicable convenience switch recovery

program; and

(2)AAthe applicable solid waste rules of the

commission.

[Sections 375.103-375.150 reserved for expansion]

SUBCHAPTER D. REPORTS

Sec.A375.151.AAANNUAL IMPLEMENTATION REPORT. (a) On or

before December 31 of each year, the commission shall:

(1)AApublish a report that documents the capture rate

achieved through the implementation of this chapter; and
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(2)AAissue recommendations to the governor, the

lieutenant governor, the speaker of the house of representatives,

and the chair of each standing committee of the legislature with

jurisdiction over environmental issues, which identifies

legislative action that may be appropriate to improve the capture

rate referenced in Subsection (a)(1) while promoting vehicle

recycling and preventing the export of scrap metal from the state.

(b)AAThe executive director may discontinue the requirement

for an annual report under this section if the executive director

determines that the convenience switches in end-of-life vehicles no

longer pose a significant threat to the environment or to public

health.

Sec.A375.152.AAANNUAL MANUFACTURER’S IMPLEMENTATION REPORT.

On or before November 15 of each year, each manufacturer,

individually or as part of a group, shall report to the commission

the total number of convenience switches recovered in this state

and the total amount of mercury, by weight, recovered from those

convenience switches during the preceding 12 months.

SECTIONA2.AA(a) The Texas Commission on Environmental

Quality shall adopt rules for regulating a convenience switch, as

defined by Section 375.001, Health and Safety Code, as added by this

Act, as universal waste under 30 T.A.C. Section 335.261.

(b)AAUntil rules have been adopted and promulgated under

Subsection (a) of this section, the Texas Commission on

Environmental Quality shall regulate a convenience switch, as

defined by Section 375.001, Health and Safety Code, as added by this

Act, as a universal waste in accordance with 40 C.F.R. Part 273, and
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as incorporated by reference in 30 T.A.C. Section 335.261.

SECTIONA3.AANot later than the 60th day after the effective

date of this Act, individually or as part of a group, a manufacturer

shall provide containers as required by Section 375.054, Health and

Safety Code, as added by this Act, to each vehicle recycler and

scrap metal recycling facility identified by the Texas Commission

on Environmental Quality.

SECTIONA4.AAThe initial report described by Section 375.151,

Health and Safety Code, as added by this Act, shall be published as

required by that section on or before December 31, 2006.

SECTIONA5.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it receives

a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect August 29, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2793 was passed by the House on May

13, 2005, by a non-record vote; that the House refused to concur in

Senate amendments to H.B. No. 2793 on May 27, 2005, and requested

the appointment of a conference committee to consider the

differences between the two houses; and that the House adopted the

conference committee report on H.B. No. 2793 on May 29, 2005, by a

non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA
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I certify that H.B. No. 2793 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0; at the request of the House, the Senate appointed a conference

committee to consider the differences between the two houses; and

that the Senate adopted the conference committee report on H.B. No.

2793 on May 29, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A2894

AN ACT

relating to the marketing and sale of certain license plates by a

private vendor.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 504.851, Transportation Code, is amended

by amending Subsections (a), (b), (c), (e), (f), (g), and (h) and

adding Subsections (g-1) and (k)-(m) to read as follows:

(a)AAThe [commission may authorize the] department shall

[to] enter into a contract with the private vendor whose proposal is

most advantageous to the state, as determined from competitive

sealed proposals that satisfy the requirements of this section, for

the marketing and sale of:

(1)AApersonalized [prestige] license plates authorized

by Section 504.101; or

(2)AAwith the agreement of the private vendor, other

specialty [specialized] license plates authorized by this

subchapter.

(b)AAInstead of the fees established by Section 504.101(c),

[if the commission authorizes the department to contract with a

private vendor under Subsection (a)(1) for the marketing and sale

of personalized prestige license plates,] the commission by rule

shall establish fees for the issuance or renewal of personalized

[prestige] license plates that are marketed and sold by the private

vendor. Fees must be reasonable and not less than the greater of:
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(1)AAthe amounts necessary to allow the department to

recover all reasonable costs to the department associated with the

evaluation of the competitive sealed proposals received by the

department and with the implementation and enforcement of the

contract, including direct, indirect, and administrative costs; or

(2)AAthe amount established by Section 504.101(c).

(c)AAThe [If the commission authorizes the department to

contract with a private vendor under Subsection (a)(2) for the

marketing and sale of other specialized license plates authorized

by this subchapter, including specialized license plates that may

be personalized, the] commission by rule shall establish the fees

for the issuance or renewal of souvenir license plates, specialty

[specialized] license plates, or souvenir or specialty license

plates that are personalized that are marketed and sold by the

private vendor. Fees must be reasonable and not less than the

amounts necessary to allow the department to recover all reasonable

costs to the department associated with the evaluation of the

competitive sealed proposals received by the department and with

the implementation and enforcement of the contract, including

direct, indirect, and administrative costs. A fee established

under this subsection is in addition to:

(1)AAthe registration fee and any optional registration

fee prescribed by this chapter for the vehicle for which specialty

[the specialized] license plates are issued;

(2)AAany additional fee prescribed by this subchapter

for the issuance of specialty [the specialized] license plates for

that vehicle; and
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(3)AAany additional fee prescribed by this subchapter

for the issuance of personalized license plates for that vehicle.

(e)AAThe portion of a [A] contract with a private vendor

regarding the marketing and sale of personalized license plates

[under Subsection (a)(1)] is payable only from amounts derived from

the collection of the fee established under Subsection (b). The

portion of a [A] contract with a private vendor regarding the

marketing and sale of souvenir license plates, specialty license

plates, or souvenir or specialty license plates that are

personalized under Section 504.102 [under Subsection (a)(2)] is

payable only from amounts derived from the collection of the fee

established under Subsection (c).

(f)AAThe department may approve [create] new design and color

combinations for personalized [prestige] license plates that are

marketed and [or] sold by a private vendor under a contract entered

into with the private vendor [under Subsection (a)(1)]. Each

approved license plate design and color combination remains the

property of the department.

(g)AAThe department may approve [create] new design and color

combinations for specialty [specialized] license plates authorized

by this chapter, including specialty [specialized] license plates

that may be personalized, that are marketed and [or] sold by a

private vendor under a contract entered into with the private

vendor [under Subsection (a)(2)]. Each approved license plate

design and color combination remains the property of the

department. Except as otherwise provided by this chapter, this

[This] subsection does not authorize:
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(1)AAthe department to approve a design or color

combination for a specialty [specialized] license plate that is

inconsistent with the design or color combination specified for the

license plate by the section of this chapter [subchapter] that

authorizes the issuance of the specialty [specialized] license

plate; or

(2)AAthe private vendor to market and [or] sell a

specialty [specialized] license plate with a design or color

combination that is inconsistent with the design or color

combination specified by that section.

(g-1)AAThe department may not:

(1)AApublish a proposed design or color combination for

a specialty license plate for public comment in the Texas Register

or otherwise, except on the department’s website for a period not to

exceed 10 days; or

(2)AArestrict the background color, color

combinations, or color alphanumeric license plate numbers of a

specialty license plate, except as determined by the Department of

Public Safety as necessary for law enforcement purposes.

(h)AASubject to the limitations provided by Subsections (g)

and (g-1) [In connection with a license plate that is marketed or

sold by a private vendor under contract], the department may cancel

a license plate or require the discontinuation of a license plate

design or color combination that is marketed and sold by a private

vendor under contract at any time if the department determines that

the cancellation or discontinuation is in the best interest of this

state or the motoring public.
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(k)AAThe department shall certify to the comptroller the

estimate, with a detailed explanation of the basis on which the

estimate is calculated, of all reasonable costs to the department

associated with the evaluation of competitive sealed proposals

received by the department under this section and associated with

the implementation and enforcement of a contract entered into under

this section, including direct, indirect, and administrative costs

for the issuance or renewal of personalized license plates or

specialty license plates.

(l)AAA contract entered into with the private vendor shall

provide for the department to recover all costs incurred by the

department in implementing this section. Under the contract, the

department may require the private vendor to reimburse the

department in advance for:

(1)AAnot more than one-half of the department’s

anticipated costs in connection with the contract; and

(2)AAthe department ’s anticipated costs in connection

with the introduction of a new specialty license plate.

(m)AATo the extent that specialty license plate fees

collected under this section are in excess of the minimum amount

required under Subsection (b) or (c), the excess amount shall be

deposited to the credit of the general revenue fund.

SECTIONA2.AASubchapter J, Chapter 504, Transportation Code,

is amended by adding Section 504.852 to read as follows:

Sec.A504.852.AACONTRACT LIMITATIONS. (a) In a contract

under Section 504.851, the department may not:

(1)AAunreasonably disapprove or limit any aspect of a
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private vendor’s marketing and sales plan;

(2)AAunreasonably interfere with the selection,

assignment, or management by the private vendor of the private

vendor’s employees, agents, or subcontractors; or

(3)AArequire a private vendor to market and sell

souvenir license plates, specialty license plates, or souvenir or

specialty license plates personalized under Section 504.102.

(b)AAIf a private vendor contracts to market and sell

souvenir license plates, specialty license plates, or souvenir or

specialty license plates personalized under Section 504.102, the

initial term of the contract shall be for at least five years from

the effective date of the contract. The contract may provide, with

the agreement of the department and the private vendor, a second

term at least equal in length to the initial term of the contract.

(c)AANotwithstanding Subsection (b), a private vendor may

not market and sell souvenir license plates, specialty license

plates, or souvenir or specialty license plates personalized under

Section 504.102 that compete directly for sales with another

specialty license plate issued under this chapter unless the

department and the sponsoring agency or organization of the other

license plate approve.

SECTIONA3.AAA contract awarded by the Texas Department of

Transportation to a private vendor under the provisions of Section

504.851, Transportation Code, is not valid to the extent that the

contract does not comply with the changes in law made by this Act.

SECTIONA4.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it receives

a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
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provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2894 was passed by the House on May

11, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 140, Nays 2, 1 present, not

voting; and that the House concurred in Senate amendments to H.B.

No. 2894 on May 27, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 131, Nays 7,

2 present, not voting.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2894 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA

H.B.ANo.A2894
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S.B.ANo.A280

AN ACT

relating to automotive wrecking and salvage yards.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASubdivision (1), Section 396.001,

Transportation Code, is amended to read as follows:

(1)AA"Automotive wrecking and salvage yard" means an

outdoor place where a person stores three or more wrecked vehicles

for the purpose of dismantling or wrecking the vehicles to remove

parts for sale or for use in [an] automotive repair or rebuilding

[business].

SECTIONA2.AAChapter 397, Transportation Code, is amended by

adding Section 397.014 to read as follows:

Sec.A397.014.AAINJUNCTION. (a)AAA person is entitled to an

injunction to prohibit a violation or threatened violation of this

chapter.

(b)AAThe venue for the injunction proceeding is in the county

to which this chapter applies in which any part of the automotive

wrecking and salvage yard is located.

SECTIONA3.AAThis Act takes effect immediately if it receives

a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this

Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________AAAA______________________________
President of the SenateAAAAAAAAAAAAASpeaker of the House

I hereby certify that S.B.ANo.A280 passed the Senate on

MarchA17,A2005, by the following vote: YeasA31, NaysA0; and that

the Senate concurred in House amendment on AprilA20,A2005, by the

following vote: YeasA31, NaysA0.

______________________________
AAAASecretary of the Senate

I hereby certify that S.B.ANo.A280 passed the House, with

amendment, on AprilA13,A2005, by the following vote: YeasA143,

NaysA0, two present not voting.

______________________________
AAAAChief Clerk of the House

Approved:

______________________________
AAAAAAAAAAAAADate

______________________________
AAAAAAAAAAAGovernor
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H.B.ANo.A178

AN ACT

relating to the use of electronically readable information from a

driver’s license or personal identification card in an election.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AAChapter 63, Election Code, is amended by adding

Section 63.0102 to read as follows:

Sec.A63.0102.AAUSE OF CERTAIN ELECTRONICALLY READABLE

INFORMATION. (a) An election officer may access electronically

readable information on a driver’s license or personal

identification card for proof of identification when determining

whether a voter shall be accepted for voting.

(b)AAThe secretary of state shall prescribe any necessary

procedures to implement this section.

SECTIONA2.AASection 521.126(d), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(d)AAThe prohibition provided by Subsection (b) does not

apply to a person who accesses, uses, compiles, or maintains a

database of the information for a law enforcement or governmental

purpose, including:

(1)AAan officer or employee of the department carrying

out [who accesses or uses the information for] law enforcement or

government purposes;

(2)AAa peace officer, as defined by Article 2.12, Code

of Criminal Procedure, acting in the officer’s official capacity;
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(3)AAa license deputy, as defined by Section 12.702,

Parks and Wildlife Code, issuing a license, stamp, tag, permit, or

other similar item through use of a point-of-sale system under

Section 12.703, Parks and Wildlife Code; [or]

(4)AAa person acting as authorized by Section 109.61,

Alcoholic Beverage Code; or

(5)AAa person establishing the identity of a voter

under Chapter 63, Election Code.

SECTIONA3.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 178 was passed by the House on April

12, 2005, by a non-record vote; and that the House concurred in

Senate amendments to H.B. No. 178 on May 27, 2005, by a non-record

vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 178 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A480

AN ACT

relating to the towing and storage of certain vehicles; providing a

penalty.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AAChapter 18, Code of Criminal Procedure, is

amended by adding Article 18.23 to read as follows:

Art.A18.23.AAEXPENSES FOR MOTOR VEHICLE TOWED AND STORED FOR

CERTAIN PURPOSES. (a) A law enforcement agency that directs the

towing and storage of a motor vehicle for an evidentiary or

examination purpose shall pay the cost of the towing and storage.

(b)AASubsection (a) applies whether the motor vehicle is

taken to or stored on property that is:

(1)AAowned or operated by the law enforcement agency;

or

(2)AAowned or operated by another person who provides

storage services to the law enforcement agency, including:

(A)AAa governmental entity; and

(B)AAa vehicle storage facility, as defined by

Section 2303.002, Occupations Code.

(c)AASubsection (a) does not require a law enforcement

agency to pay the cost of:

(1)AAtowing or storing a motor vehicle for a purpose

that is not an evidentiary or examination purpose, including towing

or storing a vehicle that has been abandoned, illegally parked, in
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an accident, or recovered after being stolen; or

(2)AAstoring a motor vehicle after the date the law

enforcement agency authorizes the owner or operator of the property

to which the vehicle was taken or on which the vehicle is stored to

release the vehicle to the vehicle’s owner.

(d)AAThis subsection applies only to a motor vehicle taken to

or stored on property described by Subsection (b)(2). After a law

enforcement agency authorizes the release of a motor vehicle held

for an evidentiary or examination purpose, the owner or operator of

the storage property may not refuse to release the vehicle to the

vehicle’s owner because the law enforcement agency has not paid the

cost of the towing and storage.

(e)AAChapter 685, Transportation Code, does not apply to a

motor vehicle directed by a law enforcement agency to be towed and

stored for an evidentiary or examination purpose.

SECTIONA2.AASections 2303.155(b) and (c), Occupations Code,

are amended to read as follows:

(b)AAThe operator of a vehicle storage facility or

governmental vehicle storage facility may charge the owner of a

vehicle stored or parked at the facility:

(1)AAa notification fee set in a reasonable amount for

providing notice under this subchapter, including notice under

Section 2303.154(c);

(2)AAan impoundment fee of $20 for any action that:

(A)AAis taken by or at the direction of the owner

or operator of the facility; and

(B)AAis necessary to preserve, protect, or service
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a vehicle stored or parked at the facility;

(3)AAa daily storage fee of:

(A)AAnot less than $5 and not more than $20 [$15]

for each day or part of a day the vehicle is stored at the facility

if the vehicle is not longer than 25 feet; or

(B)AA$35 [$30] for each day or part of a day the

vehicle is stored at the facility if the vehicle is longer than 25

feet; and

(4)AAany fee that is required to be submitted to a law

enforcement agency, the agency’s authorized agent, or a

governmental entity.

(c)AAA notification fee under Subsection (b) may not exceed

$50 [$32], except that if notice by publication is required by this

chapter and the cost of publication exceeds 50 percent of the

notification fee, the vehicle storage facility may recover the

additional amount of the cost of publication from the vehicle owner

or agent.

SECTIONA3.AASubchapter D, Chapter 2303, Occupations Code, is

amended by adding Section 2303.158 to read as follows:

Sec.A2303.158.AAACCESS TO GLOVE COMPARTMENT, CONSOLE, OR

OTHER INTERIOR STORAGE AREA TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY OR OWNERSHIP.

The operator of a vehicle storage facility or a governmental

vehicle storage facility must allow a person claiming to be the

owner of a vehicle stored or parked at the facility to have access

to the vehicle ’s glove compartment, console, or other interior

storage area if documents necessary to establish the person ’s

identity or ownership of the vehicle are located in the glove
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compartment, console, or other interior storage area.

SECTIONA4.AASubchapter D, Chapter 2303, Occupations Code, is

amended by adding Section 2303.159 to read as follows:

Sec.A2303.159.AAFORMS OF PAYMENT OF CHARGES. (a) The

operator of a vehicle storage facility shall accept payment by an

electronic check, debit card, or credit card for any charge

associated with delivery or storage of a vehicle.

(b)AAIn this section, "vehicle storage facility" includes a

governmental vehicle storage facility as defined by Section

2303.155.

SECTIONA5.AASections 643.206(a) and (c), Transportation

Code, are amended to read as follows:

(a)AAA towing company that makes a nonconsent tow shall tow

the vehicle to a vehicle storage facility that is operated by a

person who holds a license to operate the facility under Chapter

2303, Occupations Code, unless the towing company agrees to take

the vehicle to a location designated by the vehicle ’s owner.

(c)AAExcept as provided by this chapter, Article 18.23, Code

of Criminal Procedure, or Chapter 2303, Occupations Code, a fee may

not be charged or collected without the prior written consent of the

vehicle owner or operator.

SECTIONA6.AASection 684.012(a), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAA parking facility owner may, without the consent of the

owner or operator of an unauthorized vehicle, cause the vehicle and

any property on or in the vehicle to be removed and stored at a

vehicle storage facility at the vehicle owner’s or operator’s
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expense if:

(1)AAsigns that comply with Subchapter C prohibiting

unauthorized vehicles are located on the parking facility at the

time of towing and for the preceding 24 hours and remain installed

at the time of towing;

(2)AAthe owner or operator of the vehicle has received

actual notice from the parking facility owner that the vehicle will

be towed at the vehicle owner ’s or operator’s expense if it is in or

not removed from an unauthorized space;

(3)AAthe parking facility owner gives notice to the

owner or operator of the vehicle under Subsection (b); or

(4)AAthe vehicle is:

(A)AAleft in violation of Section 684.011 or

684.0125; or

(B)AAin or obstructing a portion of a paved

driveway or abutting public roadway used for entering or exiting

the facility and the removal is approved by a peace officer.

SECTIONA7.AASection 684.014, Transportation Code, is amended

by amending Subsection (a) and adding Subsection (d) to read as

follows:

(a)AAA towing company that is insured as provided by

Subsection (c) may, without the consent of an owner or operator of

an unauthorized vehicle, remove and store the vehicle at a vehicle

storage facility at the expense of the owner or operator of the

vehicle if:

(1)AAthe towing company has received written

verification from the parking facility owner that:
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(A)AAthe parking facility owner has installed the

signs required by Section 684.012(a)(1); or

(B)AAthe owner or operator received notice under

Section 684.012(a)(2) or the parking facility owner gave notice

complying with Section 684.012(a)(3); or

(2)AAthe vehicle is:

(A)AAleft in violation of Section 684.011; or

(B)AAin or obstructing a portion of a paved

driveway or abutting public roadway used for entering or exiting

the facility and the removal is approved by a peace officer.

(d)AAA towing company may remove and store a vehicle under

Subsection (a) only if the parking facility owner:

(1)AArequests that the towing company remove and store

the specific vehicle; or

(2)AAhas a standing written agreement with the towing

company to enforce parking restrictions in the parking facility

from which the vehicle will be removed.

SECTIONA8.AASection 684.085, Transportation Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A684.085.AAVIOLATION OF CHAPTER; FINE. A violation of

this chapter is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than

$500 [$200] or more than $1,500[$500].

SECTIONA9.AA(a) The change in law made by this Act to Section

684.085, Transportation Code, applies only to an offense committed

on or after the effective date of this Act. For purposes of this

section, an offense was committed before the effective date of this

Act if any element of the offense occurred before the effective
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date.

(b)AAAn offense committed before the effective date of this

Act is governed by the law in effect on the date the offense was

committed, and the former law is continued in effect for that

purpose.

SECTIONA10.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.

1

2

3

4

5

6

H.B.ANo.A480

7



______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 480 was passed by the House on April

26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 480 was passed by the Senate on May

25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAAA

APPROVED:AA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA

H.B.ANo.A480
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H.B.ANo.A809

AN ACT

relating to excepting certain motor vehicles owned by an individual

and used for the production of income from required rendition for ad

valorem tax purposes.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 22.01, Tax Code, is amended by adding

Subsection (k) to read as follows:

(k)AANotwithstanding Subsections (a) and (b), an individual

who owns and is the primary operator of one or more passenger cars

or light trucks in the course of the individual ’s occupation or

profession and also operates those vehicles for personal activities

that do not involve the production of income is not required to

render the vehicles for taxation. In this subsection, "passenger

car" and "light truck" have the meanings assigned by Section

502.001, Transportation Code.

SECTIONA2.AAThe change in law made by this Act applies only

to the rendition of property for an ad valorem tax year that begins

on or after January 1, 2006.

SECTIONA3.AAThis Act takes effect January 1, 2006.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 809 was passed by the House on April

20, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 136, Nays 0, 1 present, not

voting; and that the House concurred in Senate amendments to H.B.

No. 809 on May 27, 2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 809 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A925

AN ACT

relating to border issues.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASubchapter A, Chapter 411, Government Code, is

amended by adding Section 411.0197 to read as follows:

Sec.A411.0197.AAADVISORY OVERSIGHT COMMUNITY OUTREACH

COMMITTEE. (a) The commission shall establish an Advisory

Oversight Community Outreach Committee in the department and may

adopt rules for the implementation and operation of the committee.

The committee shall meet at the times and places specified by

commission rule or at the call of the presiding officer or any two

members.

(b)AAThe commission shall appoint the members of the

committee, which must include border crossing bridge owners,

persons serving in the capacity of director of entities governing

ports of entry, community leaders, planning developers, mayors, or

persons designated by mayors, of the major municipalities in the

area of the border of this state and the United Mexican States,

representatives of law enforcement agencies, and representatives

of the general public.

(c)AAThe commission shall designate the presiding officer of

the committee from among the committee ’s members. The presiding

officer serves at the will of the commission.

(d)AAThe committee shall:
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(1)AAdocument to the commission trade-related

incidents involving department personnel;

(2)AAdevelop recommendations and strategies to improve

community relations, department personnel conduct, and the truck

inspection process at this state ’s ports of entry; and

(3)AAact as ombudsman between the department and the

communities located and residents residing in the area of the

border of this state and the United Mexican States and between the

department and the department’s personnel.

(e)AAIn determining action to be taken on the information and

recommendations received from the committee, the commission shall

consider the importance of trade with the United Mexican States,

the safety of the traveling public, preservation of the highway

system, applicable federal laws and regulations, and the concerns

expressed by communities.

(f)AANot later than January 1 of each odd-numbered year the

commission shall submit to the lieutenant governor, speaker of the

house of representatives, and each other member of the legislature

a report documenting the committee’s recommendations and comments,

incident reports received by the committee, and the actions taken

by the commission and department to address those matters.

SECTIONA2.AASubtitle F, Title 4, Government Code, is amended

by adding Chapter 490 to read as follows:

CHAPTER 490. TEXAS-MEXICO STRATEGIC INVESTMENT COMMISSION

Sec.A490.001.AADEFINITIONS. In this chapter:

(1)AA"Commission" means the Texas-Mexico Strategic

Investment Commission.
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(2)AA"Texas-Mexico border region" has the meaning

assigned by Section 2056.002.

Sec.A490.002.AAPURPOSE. The ongoing economic stability and

growth of Texas and the improved quality of life for all Texans are

dependent in part on coordination with neighboring states. Texas

and the Mexican border states of Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon,

and Tamaulipas face common challenges in the areas of

infrastructure, health care, access to and availability of water,

economic development and trade, and environmental protection. The

commission will encourage a collaborative approach between Texas

and neighboring Mexican states in specific areas so as to better

address challenges and plan for the future.

Sec.A490.003.AATEXAS-MEXICO STRATEGIC INVESTMENT

COMMISSION; MEMBERS. (a)AAThe Texas-Mexico Strategic Investment

Commission is established.

(b)AAThe commission is composed of:

(1)AAthe border commerce coordinator or a designee;

(2)AAthe executive director of the Texas Department of

Transportation or a designee;

(3)AAthe executive administrator of the Texas Water

Development Board or a designee;

(4)AAthe commissioner of state health services or a

designee;

(5)AAthe chair of the Railroad Commission or a

designee; and

(6)AAthe executive director of the Texas Commission on

Environmental Quality or a designee.
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(c)AAThe border commerce coordinator shall serve as the chair

of the commission.

Sec.A490.004.AAFUNCTIONS OF COMMISSION. (a)AAThe commission

shall:

(1)AArepresent government agencies within the

Texas-Mexico border region to help reduce regulations by improving

communication and cooperation between federal, state, and local

governments;

(2)AAexamine trade issues between the United States and

Mexico;

(3)AAstudy the flow of commerce at ports of entry

between this state and Mexico, including the movement of commercial

vehicles across the border, and establish a plan to aid that

commerce and improve the movement of those vehicles;

(4)AAwork with federal officials to resolve

transportation issues involving infrastructure, including roads

and bridges, to allow for the efficient movement of goods and people

across the border between Texas and Mexico;

(5)AAwork with federal officials to create a unified

federal agency process to streamline border crossing needs;

(6)AAidentify problems involved with border truck

inspections and related trade and transportation infrastructure;

(7)AAwork to increase funding for the North American

Development Bank to assist in the financing of water and wastewater

facilities;

(8)AAexplore the sale of excess electric power from

Texas to Mexico;
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(9)AAidentify areas of environmental protection that

need to be addressed cooperatively between Texas and the Mexican

states;

(10)AAidentify common challenges to health care on

which all states can collaborate; and

(11)AAdevelop recommendations, when possible, for

addressing border challenges.

(b)AAThe commission shall work with local governments,

metropolitan planning organizations, and other appropriate

community organizations in the Texas Department of

Transportation’s Pharr, Laredo, and El Paso transportation

districts, and with comparable entities in Mexican states bordering

those districts, to address the unique planning and capacity needs

of those areas. The commission shall assist those governments,

organizations, and entities to identify and develop initiatives to

address those needs.

(c)AAThe commission shall work with industries and

communities on both sides of the Texas-Mexico border to develop

international industry cluster initiatives to capitalize on

resources available in communities located adjacent to each other

across the border.

(d)AAThe commission may meet at least once a year with

representatives from the Mexican states of Chihuahua, Coahuila,

Nuevo Leon, and Tamaulipas during the Border Governors Conference

to discuss issues and challenges of the Texas-Mexico border region

and develop strategic collaborative approaches for addressing the

challenges.
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Sec.A490.005.AAFUNDING. (a)AAIn addition to any amount

appropriated by the legislature, the commission may request state

agencies to apply for funds from the federal government or any other

public or private entity. The commission may also solicit grants,

gifts, and donations from private sources on the state ’s behalf.

The use of a gift, grant, or donation solicited under this section

must be consistent with the purposes of the commission.

(b)AAThe commission shall review and may require reports of

state agencies that receive appropriations, gifts, grants,

donations, or endowments as a result of the commission ’s

recommendations.

(c)AAA state agency may accept a gift, grant, donation, or

endowment received as a result of the commission’s recommendations.

SECTIONA3.AA(a) Section 772.010, Government Code, as added

by Chapters 429 and 1339, Acts of the 76th Legislature, Regular

Session, 1999, is reenacted and amended to read as follows:

Sec.A772.010.AABORDER COMMERCE COORDINATOR. (a)AAThe

governor shall designate a border commerce coordinator in the

governor’s office or the office of the secretary of state as

determined by the governor. The coordinator shall:

(1)AAexamine trade issues between the United States,

Mexico, and Canada;

(2)AAact as an ombudsman for government agencies within

the Texas and Mexico border region to help reduce regulations by

improving communication and cooperation between federal, state,

and local governments;

(3)AAstudy the flow of commerce at ports of entry
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between this state and Mexico, including the movement of commercial

vehicles across the border,[;] and establish a plan to aid that

commerce and improve the movement of those vehicles;

(4)A[(3)]AAwork with federal officials to resolve

transportation issues involving infrastructure, including roads

and bridges, to allow for the efficient movement of goods and people

across the border between Texas and Mexico;

(5)A[(4)]AAwork with federal officials to create a

unified federal agency process to streamline border crossing needs;

(6)A[(5)]AAwork to increase funding for the North

American Development Bank to assist in the financing of water and

wastewater facilities; and

(7)A[(6)]AAexplore the sale of excess electric power

from Texas to Mexico.

(b)AAThe governor shall appoint a border commerce

coordinator to serve at the will of the governor in the governor’s

office or in the office of the secretary of state and may select the

secretary of state as the coordinator.

(c)AAThe coordinator shall work with the interagency work

group established under Section 772.011, and with local

governments, metropolitan planning organizations, and other

appropriate community organizations adjacent to the border of this

state with the United Mexican States, and with comparable entities

in Mexican states adjacent to that border, to address the unique

planning and capacity needs of those areas. The coordinator shall

assist those governments, organizations, and entities to identify

and develop initiatives to address those needs. Before JanuaryA1
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of each year, the coordinator shall submit to the presiding officer

of each house of the legislature a report of the coordinator ’s

activities under this subsection during the preceding year.

(d)AAThe coordinator shall:

(1)AAwork with private industry and appropriate

entities of Texas and the United States to require that low-sulfur

fuel be sold along highways in Texas carrying increased traffic

related to activities under the North American Free Trade

Agreement; and

(2)AAwork with representatives of the government of

Mexico and the governments of those Mexican states bordering Texas

to increase the use of low-sulfur fuel.

(b)AAChapter 772, Government Code, is amended by adding

Sections 772.0101 and 772.0102 to read as follows:

Sec.A772.0101.AABORDER INSPECTION, TRADE, AND

TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE. (a)AAThe border commerce

coordinator shall establish and appoint the members of the Border

Inspection, Trade, and Transportation Advisory Committee. The

members must include representatives of the Texas Department of

Transportation, the Department of Public Safety of the State of

Texas, the Office of State-Federal Relations, the United States

Department of Transportation, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

Administration, and other representatives of state and federal

agencies involved in border crossing issues. Chapter 2110 does not

apply to the size, composition, or duration of the Border

Inspection, Trade, and Transportation Advisory Committee.

(b)AAThe coordinator shall work with the advisory committee
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and the interagency work group established under Section 772.011

to:

(1)AAidentify problems involved with border truck

inspections and related trade and transportation infrastructure;

and

(2)AAdevelop recommendations for addressing those

problems.

(c)AAThe coordinator shall work with the advisory committee

and appropriate agencies of Texas, the United States, and Mexico to

develop initiatives to mitigate congestion at ports of entry at the

Mexican border by conducting in Mexico inspections of trucks

entering Texas. In developing the initiatives, the coordinator

shall give consideration to similar initiatives proposed or

implemented at the border of the United States and Canada.

(d)AAThe coordinator shall report quarterly to the presiding

officer of each house of the legislature on the findings and

recommendations of the advisory committee.

Sec.A772.0102.AATRADE AND COMMERCE PLAN. (a)AAThe border

commerce coordinator shall develop, in conjunction with

representatives of chambers of commerce, metropolitan planning

organizations adjacent to the United Mexican States, and private

industry groups, and with the advice of the interagency work group

established under Section 772.011, a comprehensive trade and

commerce plan for the region designed to:

(1)AAincrease trade by attracting new business

ventures;

(2)AAsupport expansion of existing industries; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

H.B.ANo.A925

9



(3)AAaddress workforce training needs.

(b)AAThe plan must cover five-year, 10-year, and 15-year

periods.

(c)AAThe coordinator shall work with industries and

communities on both sides of the border to develop international

industry cluster initiatives to capitalize on resources available

in communities located adjacent to each other across the border.

(d)AAThe coordinator shall conduct annual conferences of

interested persons, working with chambers of commerce and

universities of this state along the Texas and Mexico border

region, and shall host those conferences at no cost to the

coordinator. The purposes of the conferences are to:

(1)AAmake the trade and commerce plan public;

(2)AAreport on updated findings and progress of

implementation of the plan; and

(3)AAdevelop new international industry cluster

initiatives.

(c)AAThis section takes effect only if a specific

appropriation for the implementation of this section is provided in

S.B. No. 1 (General Appropriations Act), Acts of the 79th

Legislature, Regular Session, 2005. If no specific appropriation

is provided in the General Appropriations Act, this section has no

effect.

SECTIONA4.AAChapter 772, Government Code, is amended by

adding Section 772.011 to read as follows:

Sec.A772.011.AAINTERAGENCY WORK GROUP ON BORDER ISSUES. (a)

An interagency work group is created to:
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(1)AAdevelop or update a process to allow agencies to

work together on issues that face border communities;

(2)AAdiscuss and coordinate programs and services

offered to border communities and residents of border communities;

and

(3)AAdevelop regulatory and legislative

recommendations to eliminate duplication and combine program

services.

(b)AAThe work group is composed of the heads of the following

agencies or their designees:

(1)AAthe Office of Rural Community Affairs;

(2)AAthe Texas Department of Housing and Community

Affairs;

(3)AAthe Texas Water Development Board;

(4)AAthe Texas Department of Transportation;

(5)AAthe Texas Commission on Environmental Quality;

(6)AAthe Texas Workforce Commission;

(7)AAthe Department of State Health Services;

(8)AAthe Health and Human Services Commission;

(9)AAthe General Land Office;

(10)AAthe Texas Education Agency;

(11)AAthe Texas Economic Development and Tourism

Office;

(12)AAthe Texas Office of State-Federal Relations;

(13)AAthe Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board;

(14)AAthe attorney general’s office;

(15)AAthe secretary of state’s office;
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(16)AAthe Department of Public Safety; and

(17)AAthe Railroad Commission.

(c)AAThe work group shall meet at least once each year in

Austin to discuss border issues and to provide information showing

the impact each agency has on border communities for use in

developing border policy.

(d)AAIn this section, "border region" means the portion of

this state located within 100 kilometers of this state ’s

international border.

(e)AAIn fulfilling its duties, the work group shall consider

the effect of policies instituted by the federal government

impacting the border region.

SECTIONA5.AASection 502.054(a), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAThe department, through its director, may enter into an

agreement with an authorized officer of another jurisdiction,

including another state of the United States, a foreign country or a

state, province, territory, or possession of a foreign country, to

provide for:

(1)AAthe registration of vehicles by residents of this

state and nonresidents on an allocation or mileage apportionment

plan, as under the International Registration Plan; and

(2)AAthe exemption from payment of registration fees by

nonresidents if residents of this state are granted reciprocal

exemptions.

SECTIONA6.AASection 112.003, Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:
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Sec.A112.003.AAPOWERS AND DUTIES.AA(a) The foundation shall

raise money from other foundations, governmental entities, and

other sources to finance health programs [in this state] in areas

adjacent to the border with the United Mexican States.

(b)AAThe foundation shall:

(1)AAidentify and seek potential partners in the

private sector that will afford this state the opportunity to

maintain or increase the existing levels of financing of health

programs and activities;

(2)AAengage in outreach efforts to make the existence

of the office known to potential partners throughout this area

[state]; and

(3)AAperform any other function necessary to carry out

the purposes of this section.

(c)AAThe department shall review programs from all agencies

under its control to determine which projects should be available

to receive money under Subsection (a).

(d)AAThe foundation has the powers necessary and convenient

to carry out its duties.

SECTIONA7.AASection 112.004, Health and Safety Code, is

amended to read as follows:

Sec.A112.004.AAADMINISTRATION.AA(a) The foundation is

governed by a board of five directors [appointed by the Texas Board

of Health from individuals recommended by the commissioner].

Vacancies shall be filled by a vote of the board of directors of the

foundation from individuals recommended by the department.

(b)AAMembers of the board of directors serve for staggered
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terms of six years, with as near as possible to one-third of the

members’ terms expiring every two years.

(c)AAAppointments to the board of directors shall be made

without regard to the race, color, disability, sex, religion, age,

or national origin of the appointees.

(d)AAThe board of directors shall ensure that the foundation

remains eligible for an exemption from federal income tax under

Section 501(a), Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, by being

listed as an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of that

code, as amended.

SECTIONA8.AASubchapter D, Chapter 6, Water Code, is amended

by adding Section 6.112 to read as follows:

Sec.A6.112.AABORDER PROJECTS WEBSITE. (a) In this section,

"border region" means the portion of this state located within 100

kilometers of this state’s international border.

(b)AAThe board may maintain and update an Internet-based

directory of border projects, also know as the Border Activity

Tracker, containing information about projects in the border region

in which a state agency is involved. The board shall establish

guidelines as to which projects and information are to be included

in the directory.

(c)AAEach state agency involved in a project in the border

region may electronically submit to the board any information

required under this section to be on the Internet-based directory

of border projects. Each state agency shall update the information

promptly, not less often than quarterly.

SECTIONA9.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 925 was passed by the House on May 20,

2005, by a non-record vote; and that the House concurred in Senate

amendments to H.B. No. 925 on May 29, 2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 925 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 28, Nays

3.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA

H.B.ANo.A925
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H.B.ANo.A1130

AN ACT

relating to the adoption of a privacy policy by a person who

requires the disclosure of an individual ’s social security number;

providing a civil penalty.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASubchapter D, Chapter 35, Business & Commerce

Code, is amended by adding Section 35.581 to read as follows:

Sec.A35.581.AAPRIVACY POLICY NECESSARY TO REQUIRE DISCLOSURE

OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. (a) A person may not require an

individual to disclose the individual’s social security number to

obtain goods or services from or enter into a business transaction

with the person, unless the person:

(1)AAadopts a privacy policy;

(2)AAmakes the privacy policy available to the

individual; and

(3)AAmaintains under the privacy policy the

confidentiality and security of a social security number disclosed

to the person.

(b)AAA privacy policy adopted under this section must include

how personal information is collected, how and when the personal

information is used, how the personal information is protected, who

has access to the personal information, and how the personal

information is disposed.

(c)AAThis section does not apply to:
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(1)AAa person who is required to maintain and

disseminate a privacy policy under the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (15

U.S.C. Sections 6801 to 6809), the Family Educational Rights and

Privacy Act (20 U.S.C. Section 1232g), or the Health Insurance

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (42 U.S.C. Section 1320d

et seq.);

(2)AAa covered entity under rules adopted by the

commissioner of insurance relating to insurance consumer health

information privacy or insurance consumer financial information

privacy;

(3)AAa governmental body, as defined by Section

552.003, Government Code, other than a municipally owned utility;

or

(4)AAa person with respect to a loan transaction, if the

person is not engaged in the business of making loans.

(d)AAA person who violates Subsection (a) is liable to the

state for a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $500 for each

calendar month during which a violation occurs. The civil penalty

may not be imposed for more than one violation that occurs in a

month. The attorney general or the prosecuting attorney in the

county in which the violation occurs may bring suit to recover the

civil penalty imposed under this section.

(e)AAThe attorney general may bring an action in the name of

the state to restrain or enjoin a person from violating Subsection

(a).

SECTIONA2.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 1130 was passed by the House on April

13, 2005, by a non-record vote; and that the House concurred in

Senate amendments to H.B. No. 1130 on May 16, 2005, by a non-record

vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 1130 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 12, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA

H.B.ANo.A1130
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H.B.ANo.A2495

AN ACT

relating to the transfer of a motor vehicle title at a dealer

auction.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 501.071(a), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAExcept as provided in Section 503.039, a [A] motor

vehicle may not be the subject of a subsequent sale unless the owner

designated in the certificate of title transfers the certificate of

title at the time of the sale.

SECTIONA2.AASubchapter B, Chapter 503, Transportation Code,

is amended by adding Section 503.039 to read as follows:

Sec.A503.039.AAPUBLIC MOTOR VEHICLE AUCTIONS. A motor

vehicle may not be the subject of a subsequent sale at an auction by

a holder of a dealer’s general distinguishing number unless:

(1)AAequitable or legal title passes to the holder of a

dealer’s general distinguishing number before a transfer of title

to the buyer; and

(2)AAthe holder of a dealer’s general distinguishing

number transfers the certificate of title to the buyer before the

21st day after the date of the sale.

SECTIONA3.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2495 was passed by the House on May 9,

2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2495 was passed by the Senate on May

25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAAA

APPROVED:AA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A2630

AN ACT

relating to procedures regarding the removal and storage of

vehicles.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 683.011(b), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(b)AAA law enforcement agency may use agency personnel,

equipment, and facilities or contract for other personnel,

equipment, and facilities to remove, preserve, [and] store, send

notice regarding, and dispose of an abandoned motor vehicle,

watercraft, or outboard motor taken into custody by the agency

under this subchapter.

SECTIONA2.AASection 683.031(c), Transportation Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(c)AAThe garagekeeper shall report the abandonment of the

motor vehicle to a law enforcement agency with jurisdiction where

the vehicle is located or to the Department of Public Safety and

shall pay a $10 [$5] fee to be used by the law enforcement agency for

the cost of the notice required by this subchapter or other cost

incurred in disposing of the vehicle. A fee paid to the Department

of Public Safety shall be used to administer this chapter.

SECTIONA3.AASections 683.034(a), (b), and (e),

Transportation Code, are amended to read as follows:

(a)AAA law enforcement agency shall take into custody an
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abandoned vehicle left in a storage facility that has not been

claimed in the period provided by the notice under Section 683.012.

In this section, a law enforcement agency has custody if the agency:

(1)AAhas physical custody of the vehicle;

(2)AAhas given notice to the storage facility that the

law enforcement agency intends to dispose of the vehicle under this

section; or

(3)AAhas received a report under Section 683.031(c) and

the garagekeeper has met all of the requirements of that

subsection.

(b)AAThe law enforcement agency may use the vehicle as

authorized by Section 683.016 or sell the vehicle at auction as

provided by Section 683.014. If a vehicle is sold, the proceeds of

the sale shall first be applied to a garagekeeper ’s charges for

providing notice regarding the vehicle and for service, towing,

impoundment, storage, and repair of the vehicle.

(e)AAIf the law enforcement agency does not take the vehicle

into custody before the 31st day after the date the vehicle was

reported abandoned under Section 683.031 [notice is sent under

Section 683.012]:

(1)AAthe law enforcement agency may not take the

vehicle into custody; and

(2)AAthe storage facility may dispose of the vehicle

under:

(A)AAChapter 70, Property Code, except that notice

under Section 683.012 satisfies the notice requirements of that

chapter; or
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(B)AAChapter 2303, Occupations Code, if [:

[(i)]Athe storage facility is a vehicle

storage facility [; and

[(ii)AAthe vehicle is an abandoned nuisance

vehicle].

SECTIONA4.AASection 685.004, Transportation Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A685.004.AAJURISDICTION.AA[(a)]AAA hearing under this

chapter shall be in the justice court having jurisdiction in the

precinct in which the vehicle storage facility is located [is

before the justice of the peace or a magistrate in whose

jurisdiction is the location from which the vehicle was removed,

except as provided by Subsection (b)].

[(b)AAIn a municipality with a population of 1.9 million or

more, a hearing under this chapter is before a judge of a municipal

court in whose jurisdiction is the location from which the vehicle

was removed.]

SECTIONA5.AASection 685.006, Transportation Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A685.006.AACONTENTS OF NOTICE.AA[(a)]AThe notice under

Section 685.005 must include:

(1)AAa statement of:

(A)AAthe person’s right to submit a request within

14 days for a court hearing to determine whether probable cause

existed to remove the vehicle;

(B)AAthe information that a request for a hearing

must contain; and
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(C)AAany filing fee for the hearing;

(2)AAthe name, address, and telephone number of the

towing company that removed the vehicle;

(3)AAthe name, address, and telephone number of the

vehicle storage facility in which the vehicle was placed; [and]

(4)AAthe name, address, and telephone number of the

person, property owner, or law enforcement agency that authorized

the removal of the vehicle; and

(5)AAthe name, address, and telephone number of the

justice court having jurisdiction in the precinct in which the

vehicle storage facility is located [one or more of the appropriate

magistrates as determined under Subsection (b)].

[(b)AAThe notice must include the name, address, and

telephone number of:

[(1)AAthe municipal court of the municipality, if the

towing company that removed the vehicle or the vehicle storage

facility in which the vehicle was placed is located in a

municipality; or

[(2)AAthe justice of the peace of the precinct in which

the towing company or the vehicle storage facility is located, if

the towing company that removed the vehicle or the vehicle storage

facility in which the vehicle was placed is not located in a

municipality.]

SECTIONA6.AASection 685.008, Transportation Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A685.008.AAFILING FEE AUTHORIZED.AAThe court may charge

a filing fee of $20 [$10] for a hearing under this chapter.
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SECTIONA7.AASection 685.009, Transportation Code, is amended

by amending Subsections (a) and (b) and adding Subsection (b-1) to

read as follows:

(a)AAA hearing under this chapter shall be held before the

10th [seventh] working day after the date the court receives the

request for the hearing.

(b)AAThe court shall notify the person who requested the

hearing and the person or law enforcement agency that authorized

the removal of the vehicle of the date, time, and place of the

hearing by registered or certified mail. The notice of the hearing

to the person or law enforcement agency that authorized the removal

of the vehicle shall include a copy of the request for hearing.

(b-1)AAAt a hearing under this section:

(1)AAthe burden of proof is on the person who requested

the hearing; and

(2)AAhearsay evidence is admissible if it is considered

otherwise reliable by the justice of the peace.

SECTIONA8.AAChapter 685, Transportation Code, is amended by

adding Section 685.010 to read as follows:

Sec.A685.010.AAAPPEAL. An appeal from a hearing under this

chapter is governed by the rules of procedure applicable to civil

cases in justice court, except that no appeal bond may be required

by the court.

SECTIONA9.AASection 2303.152, Occupations Code, is amended

by amending Subsection (a) and adding Subsection (e) to read as

follows:

(a)AANotice to the registered owner and the primary
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lienholder of a vehicle towed to a vehicle storage facility may be

provided by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in

the county in which the vehicle is stored if:

(1)AAthe vehicle is registered in another state;

(2)AAthe operator of the storage facility submits to

the governmental entity with which the vehicle is registered a

written request for information relating to the identity of the

registered owner and any lienholder of record;

(3)AAthe identity of the registered owner cannot be

determined;

(4)AAthe registration does not contain an address for

the registered owner; or [and]

(5)AAthe operator of the storage facility cannot

reasonably determine the identity and address of each lienholder.

(e)AANotice to the registered owner and the primary

lienholder of a vehicle towed to a vehicle storage facility may be

provided by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in

the county in which the vehicle is stored if:

(1)AAthe vehicle does not display a license plate or a

vehicle inspection certificate indicating the state of

registration;

(2)AAthe identity of the registered owner cannot

reasonably be determined by the operator of the storage facility;

or

(3)AAthe operator of the storage facility cannot

reasonably determine the identity and address of each lienholder.

SECTIONA10.AASection 2303.154, Occupations Code, is amended
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by adding Subsection (a-1) to read as follows:

(a-1)AAIf a vehicle is not claimed by a person permitted to

claim the vehicle before the 10th day after the date notice is

mailed or published under Section 2303.151 or 2303.152, the

operator of the vehicle storage facility shall consider the vehicle

to be abandoned and send notice of abandonment to a law enforcement

agency under Chapter 683, Transportation Code.

SECTIONA11.AASections 2303.155(e) and (f), Occupations Code,

are amended to read as follows:

(e)AAThe operator of a vehicle storage facility or

governmental vehicle storage facility may charge a daily storage

fee under Subsection (b):

(1)AAfor not more than five days before the date notice

is mailed or published under this subchapter, if the vehicle is

registered in this state; [and]

(2)AAfor not more than five days before the date the

request for owner information is sent to the appropriate

governmental entity as required by this subchapter, if the vehicle

is registered in another state; and

(3)AAfor each day the vehicle is in storage after the

date the notice is mailed or published until the vehicle is removed

and all accrued charges are paid.

(f)AAThe operator of a vehicle storage facility or

governmental vehicle storage facility may not charge an additional

fee related to the storage of a vehicle other than a fee authorized

by this section or a towing fee authorized by Chapter 643,

Transportation Code [that is similar to a notification,
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impoundment, or administrative fee].

SECTIONA12.AASubchapter D, Chapter 2303, Occupations Code,

is amended by adding Section 2303.158 to read as follows:

Sec.A2303.158.AAFORMS OF PAYMENT OF CHARGES. (a) The

operator of a vehicle storage facility shall accept payment by an

electronic check, debit card, or credit card for any charge

associated with delivery or storage of a vehicle.

(b)AAIn this section, "vehicle storage facility" includes a

governmental vehicle storage facility as defined by Section

2303.155.

SECTIONA13.AASection 101.141(a), Government Code, is amended

to read as follows:

(a)AAA clerk of a justice court shall collect fees and costs

as follows:

(1)AAadditional court cost in certain civil cases to

establish and maintain an alternative dispute resolution system, if

authorized by the commissioners court of a county with a population

of at least 2.5 million (Sec. 152.005, Civil Practice and Remedies

Code) . . . not to exceed $3;

(2)AAadditional filing fees:

(A)AAto fund Dallas County civil court facilities

(Sec. 51.705, Government Code) . . . not more than $15; and

(B)AAfor filing any civil action or proceeding

requiring a filing fee, including an appeal, and on the filing of

any counterclaim, cross-action, intervention, interpleader, or

third-party action requiring a filing fee, to fund civil legal

services for the indigent (Sec. 133.153, Local Government
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Code)A.A.A.A$2;

(3)AAfor filing a suit in Comal County (Sec. 152.0522,

Human Resources Code) . . . $1.50; and

(4)AAfee for hearing on probable cause for removal of a

vehicle and placement in a storage facility if assessed by the court

(Sec. 685.008, Transportation Code) . . . $20 [$10].

SECTIONA14.AASection 101.161, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec.A101.161.AAMUNICIPAL COURT FEES AND COSTS. The clerk of

a municipal court may collect a fee for a hearing on probable cause

for removal of a vehicle and placement in a storage facility if

assessed by the court (Sec. 685.008, Transportation Code) . . . $20

[$10].

SECTIONA15.AASection 101.181, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec.A101.181.AAMUNICIPAL COURTS OF RECORD FEES AND COSTS.

The clerk of a municipal court of record shall collect the following

fees and costs:

(1)AAfrom an appellant, a transcript preparation fee

(Sec. 30.00014, Government Code) . . . $25; and

(2)AAfrom an appellant in the City of El Paso, an

appellate court docket fee (Sec. 30.00147, Government Code) . . .

$25[; and

[(3)AAfee for hearing on probable cause for removal of a

vehicle and placement in a storage facility if assessed by the court

(Sec. 685.008, Transportation Code) . . . $10].

SECTIONA16.AAThe changes in law made by this Act apply only
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to procedures for the removal of a vehicle to a vehicle storage

facility or the seizure of a vehicle on or after the effective date

of this Act. The removal or seizure of a vehicle before the

effective date of this Act is governed by the law in effect

immediately before the effective date of this Act, and the former

law is continued in effect for that purpose.

SECTIONA17.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2630 was passed by the House on May

12, 2005, by a non-record vote; and that the House concurred in

Senate amendments to H.B. No. 2630 on May 27, 2005, by a non-record

vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 2630 was passed by the Senate, with

amendments, on May 25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays

0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAA

APPROVED: __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAA __________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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H.B.ANo.A3221

AN ACT

relating to the records of certain vehicle repairs, sales, and

purchases; providing penalties.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASection 2305.001, Occupations Code, is amended

by amending Subdivisions (2) and (3) and adding Subdivision (4) to

read as follows:

(2)AA"Repair" includes the rebuilding of a motor

vehicle [an automobile], the installation of a new or used part or

accessory on a motor vehicle [an automobile], and the performance

of electrical work in connection with the repair of a motor vehicle

[an automobile]. The term does not include a repair covered by

Chapter 2304.

(3)AA"Used motor vehicle [automobile]" includes a

secondhand motor vehicle [automobile].

(4)AA"Motor vehicle" has the meaning assigned by

Section 501.002, Transportation Code.

SECTIONA2.AASection 2305.002, Occupations Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A2305.002.AAAPPLICATION OF SUBCHAPTER.AAThis subchapter

applies to any person who:

(1)AAoperates a shop or garage that is engaged in the

business of repairing motor vehicles [automobiles]; or

(2)AAengages in the business of purchasing or selling
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used motor vehicles [automobiles] in this state.

SECTIONA3.AASection 2305.003(a), Occupations Code, is

amended to read as follows:

(a)AAA person subject to this subchapter shall maintain a

register of each repair the person makes to a motor vehicle [an

automobile]. The register must contain a substantially complete

and accurate description of each motor vehicle [automobile] that is

repaired.

SECTIONA4.AASection 2305.004, Occupations Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A2305.004.AAREGISTER OF USED MOTOR VEHICLE [AUTOMOBILE]

SALES AND PURCHASES. (a) A person subject to this subchapter shall

maintain a register of each sale or purchase the person makes of a

used motor vehicle [automobile].

(b)AAIf the person buys a used motor vehicle [automobile],

the register must contain:

(1)AAthe make and model, the number of cylinders, the

motor number, the vehicle identification number, and the passenger

capacity of the motor vehicle, if applicable [automobile];

(2)AAthe name, date of birth [sex, apparent age], usual

place of address, and official identification number [any special

identifying physical characteristics] of each person claiming to be

the owner of the motor vehicle [automobile]; and

(3)AAthe state registration number of the motor

vehicle, if applicable [automobile].

(c)AAIf the person sells a used motor vehicle [automobile],

in addition to the requirements of Subsection (b), the register
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must contain the name and[, the] address[, and a description] of the

purchaser of the motor vehicle [automobile].

SECTIONA5.AASection 2305.006, Occupations Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A2305.006.AAMAINTENANCE [AND INSPECTION] OF RECORDS.

(a) All records required to be maintained under this subchapter

shall be[:

[(1)]AAkept until at least the first anniversary of the

date the record is made[; and

[(2)AAopen for public inspection at all reasonable

hours].

(b)AAThe registers required by Sections 2305.003 and

2305.004 shall be maintained in a clear and intelligent manner in a

well-bound book or an electronic recordkeeping system and kept in a

secure place in the office or place of business where the work is

performed or the business is conducted. [The registers shall be

open at all times to inspection by:

[(1)AAa peace officer; or

[(2)AAany person interested in tracing or locating

stolen automobiles.]

SECTIONA6.AASubchapter A, Chapter 2305, Occupations Code, is

amended by adding Section 2305.007 to read as follows:

Sec.A2305.007.AAENTRY AND INSPECTION. (a) Except as

provided by Subsection (b), for the purpose of enforcing or

administering this chapter, Chapter 2302 of this code, or Chapter

501 or 502, Transportation Code, a member of the Texas

Transportation Commission, an employee of the Texas Transportation
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Commission or Texas Department of Transportation, a member of the

Public Safety Commission, an officer of the Department of Public

Safety, or another peace officer who is interested in tracing or

locating a stolen motor vehicle may at a reasonable time:

(1)AAenter the premises of a business regulated under

one of those chapters; and

(2)AAinspect or copy any document, record, vehicle,

part, or other item regulated under one of those chapters.

(b)AAFor the purposes of tracing or locating a stolen motor

vehicle on the premises of a person engaging in a business or

activity regulated under this chapter who is also licensed under

Chapter 348, Finance Code, only an officer of the Department of

Public Safety may at a reasonable time:

(1)AAenter the premises of the person ’s business; and

(2)AAinspect or copy any document, record, vehicle,

part, or other item regulated under this chapter or Chapter 348,

Finance Code.

(c)AAA person engaging in a business or activity regulated

under this chapter shall cooperate with a person conducting an

inspection under this section to assist in the recovery of stolen

motor vehicles and parts and to prevent the sale or transfer of

stolen motor vehicles and parts.

(d)AAAn entry or inspection occurs at a reasonable time for

purposes of Subsection (a) or (b) if the entry or inspection occurs:

(1)AAduring normal business hours of the person or

activity regulated under a chapter listed in Subsection (a) or (b);

or
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(2)AAwhile an activity regulated under a chapter listed

in Subsection (a) or (b) is occurring on the premises.

SECTIONA7.AASection 2305.101, Occupations Code, is amended

to read as follows:

Sec.A2305.101.AACRIMINAL PENALTY. (a) A person [who

violates this chapter] commits an offense if the person violates

this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.

(b)AAExcept as provided by Subsection (c), an [An] offense

under this section is punishable by a fine of not less than $10 and

not more than $100.

(c)AAAn offense under this chapter that consists of the

violation of Section 2305.007 is a Class A misdemeanor.

SECTIONA8.AA(a) The changes in law made by this Act apply

only to an offense committed on or after the effective date of this

Act. For purposes of this section, an offense is committed before

the effective date of this Act if any element of the offense occurs

before that date.

(b)AAAn offense committed before the effective date of this

Act is covered by the law in effect when the offense was committed,

and the former law is continued in effect for that purpose.

SECTIONA9.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________

AAAAPresident of the Senate Speaker of the HouseAAAAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 3221 was passed by the House on May

13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________

Chief Clerk of the HouseAAA

I certify that H.B. No. 3221 was passed by the Senate on May

25, 2005, by the following vote:AAYeas 31, Nays 0.

______________________________

Secretary of the SenateAAAA

APPROVED:AA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADateAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAA_____________________

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGovernorAAAAAAA
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S.B.ANo.A213

AN ACT

relating to requiring more Spanish language content for online

information provided by state agencies.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AASubchapter F, Chapter 2054, Government Code, is

amended by adding Section 2054.116 to read as follows:

Sec.A2054.116.AASPANISH LANGUAGE CONTENT ON AGENCY WEBSITES.

(a)AAIn this section, "person of limited English proficiency" means

a person whose primary language is other than English and whose

English language skills are such that the person has difficulty

interacting effectively with a state agency.

(b)AAEach state agency shall make a reasonable effort to

ensure that Spanish-speaking persons of limited English

proficiency can meaningfully access state agency information

online.

(c)AAIn determining whether a state agency is providing

meaningful access, an agency shall consider:

(1)AAthe number or proportion of Spanish-speaking

persons of limited English proficiency in the agency ’s eligible

service population;

(2)AAthe frequency with which Spanish-speaking persons

of limited English proficiency seek information regarding the

agency’s programs;

(3)AAthe importance of the services provided by the
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agency’s programs; and

(4)AAthe resources available to the agency.

(d)AAIn making a reasonable effort to provide meaningful

access, the state agency must avoid:

(1)AAproviding information in Spanish that is limited

in scope;

(2)AAunreasonably delaying the provision of

information in Spanish; and

(3)AAproviding program information, including forms,

notices, and correspondence, in English only.

(e)AAThis section does not apply to interactive applications

provided through TexasOnline.

SECTIONA2.AA(a) As used in this section:

(1)AA"Person of limited English proficiency" has the

meaning assigned by Section 2054.116, Government Code, as added by

this Act.

(2)AA"State agency" has the meaning assigned by Section

2054.003, Government Code.

(b)AAEach state agency shall examine the online information

that it provides to the public in relation to the requirements of

Section 2054.116, Government Code, as added by this Act. In

performing the examination, the agency shall provide an adequate

opportunity for persons interested in the examination to provide

input, including persons of limited English proficiency and related

organizations.

SECTIONA3.AAThis Act takes effect September 1, 2005.
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______________________________ ______________________________
President of the SenateAAAAAAAAAAAAASpeaker of the House

I hereby certify that S.B.ANo.A213 passed the Senate on

MarchA17,A2005, by the following vote:AAYeasA31, NaysA0.

______________________________
AAAASecretary of the Senate

I hereby certify that S.B.ANo.A213 passed the House on

MayA25,A2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________
AAAAChief Clerk of the House

Approved:

______________________________
AAAAAAAAAAAAADate

______________________________
AAAAAAAAAAAGovernor
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S.B.ANo.A1311

AN ACT

relating to the establishment of an off-highway vehicle trail and

recreational area program; providing a penalty.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTIONA1.AATitle 3, Parks and Wildlife Code, is amended by

adding Chapter 29 to read as follows:

CHAPTER 29. OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE TRAIL AND RECREATIONAL AREA

PROGRAM

Sec.A29.001.AADEFINITION. In this chapter, "off-highway

vehicle" means:

(1)AAan all-terrain vehicle, as defined by Section

663.001, Transportation Code;

(2)AAan off-highway motorcycle; and

(3)AAany other four-wheel drive vehicle not registered

to be driven on a highway.

Sec.A29.002.AAESTABLISHMENT AND OPERATION. (a)AAThe

off-highway vehicle trail and recreational area program is

established under the administration of the department. The

purposes of the program are to:

(1)AAfurther the establishment of motor vehicle

recreation sites under Section 90.009;

(2)AAestablish and maintain a public system of trails

and other recreational areas for use by owners and riders of

off-highway vehicles;
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(3)AAimprove existing trails and other recreational

areas open to the public for use by owners and riders of off-highway

vehicles; and

(4)AAfoster the responsible use of off-highway

vehicles.

(b)AAThe department shall establish and maintain trails and

recreational areas for use by owners and riders of off-highway

vehicles:

(1)AAon public land over which the department has

authority or on land purchased or leased by the department; or

(2)AAby making grants to federal agencies, political

subdivisions of this state, and nonprofit organizations under

Section 29.008.

(c)AAThe department shall coordinate the implementation and

operation of the program established under this chapter with the

implementation and operation of the program established under

Section 90.009.

Sec.A29.003.AAOFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE DECAL REQUIRED; FEE.

(a)AAExcept as provided by Section 29.004, a person may not operate

an off-highway vehicle on a trail or in a recreational area

established or maintained by the department under this chapter, on

other public land, or on land purchased or developed under a grant

made under Section 29.008 or any other grant program operated or

administered by the department without having obtained an

off-highway vehicle decal.

(b)AAThe fee for an off-highway vehicle decal is $8 or an

amount set by the commission, whichever amount is more.
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Sec.A29.004.AAEXEMPTIONS. Section 29.003 does not apply to a

person that is:

(1)AAacting on behalf of the United States, any state,

or a political subdivision of the United States or any state;

(2)AAparticipating in a search and rescue operation

under the authority or direction of a search and rescue or law

enforcement agency; or

(3)AAexempt under a rule adopted by the commission.

Sec.A29.005.AAISSUANCE, DISPLAY, AND EXPIRATION OF DECAL.

(a)AAThe department shall issue an off-highway vehicle decal to any

person whose off-highway vehicle is registered under Section

502.006, Transportation Code, on the payment of the fee under

Section 29.003(b).

(b)AAThe department shall prescribe the form and manner in

which the decal must be issued to a person and displayed for use by

the person.

(c)AAA decal issued under this section is valid only during

the yearly period for which the decal is issued without regard to

the date on which the decal is acquired. A yearly period begins on

September 1 or another date set by the commission and extends

through August 31 of the next year or another date set by the

commission.

Sec.A29.006.AADISPOSITION OF DECAL FEES. The department

shall deposit all revenue, less allowable costs, collected under

Section 29.005 to the credit of the off-highway vehicle trail and

recreational area account under Section 11.046.

Sec.A29.007.AAOTHER REVENUE. The department shall seek and
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use funding from the federal government, including the Recreational

Trails Program administered by the United States Department of

Transportation, and other sources outside the general revenue fund

to identify and facilitate the development of off-highway vehicle

trails and recreational areas under this chapter.

Sec.A29.008.AAGRANTS. The department may make grants to

federal agencies, political subdivisions of this state, and

nonprofit organizations for the purpose of acquiring, developing,

and maintaining public trails or recreational areas under this

chapter.

Sec.A29.009.AAPENALTY. A person who violates Section 29.003

commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife misdemeanor.

Sec.A29.010.AARULES. The commission:

(1)AAshall adopt rules necessary to implement this

chapter; and

(2)AAmay adopt rules:

(A)AAexempting certain classes of persons from the

requirements of Section 29.003; or

(B)AAconcerning the department’s use of funding

from sources outside the general revenue fund under Section 29.007.

SECTIONA2.AASubchapter C, Chapter 11, Parks and Wildlife

Code, is amended by adding Sections 11.046 and 11.047 to read as

follows:

Sec.A11.046.AAOFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE TRAIL AND RECREATIONAL

AREA ACCOUNT. (a)AAThe off-highway vehicle trail and recreational

area account is a separate account in the general revenue fund.

(b)AAThe department shall deposit to the credit of the
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off-highway vehicle trail and recreational area account all

revenue, less allowable costs, from the following sources:

(1)AAdecal fees collected under Chapter 29;

(2)AAfines assessed against persons operating

off-highway vehicles in violation of Chapter 29 or any other law

relating to the operation of off-highway vehicles;

(3)AAall funding outside the general revenue fund

received by the department under Section 29.007; and

(4)AAall interest that accrues to the account.

Sec.A11.047.AAUSE OF OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE TRAIL AND

RECREATIONAL AREA ACCOUNT. Money in the off-highway vehicle trail

and recreational area account may be used only for expenditures

necessary under Chapter 29 to:

(1)AAacquire, construct, develop, and maintain trails

and other recreational areas for use by owners and riders of

off-highway vehicles as defined by Section 29.001;

(2)AAprovide access to those trails and recreational

areas;

(3)AAmake grants under Section 29.008; and

(4)AAenforce and administer the off-highway vehicle

trail and recreational area program.

SECTIONA3.AAThe Parks and Wildlife Commission shall design

and make available the decal required under Section 29.003, Parks

and Wildlife Code, as added by this Act, not later than December 1,

2005.

SECTIONA4.AASection 29.009, Parks and Wildlife Code, as

added by this Act, takes effect January 1, 2006.
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SECTIONA5.AAExcept as provided by Section 4 of this Act, this

Act takes effect September 1, 2005.

______________________________ ______________________________
President of the SenateAAAAAAAAAAAAASpeaker of the House

I hereby certify that S.B.ANo.A1311 passed the Senate on

AprilA29,A2005, by the following vote:AAYeasA29, NaysA0.

______________________________
AAAASecretary of the Senate

I hereby certify that S.B.ANo.A1311 passed the House on

MayA18,A2005, by a non-record vote.

______________________________
AAAAChief Clerk of the House

Approved:

______________________________
AAAAAAAAAAAAADate

______________________________
AAAAAAAAAAAGovernor
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