ATTACHMENT 2 LATE TRANSFER PENALTY FLOWCHART

1. Has it been more than 20 working days since the sale or transfer of the
vehicle (date of assignment on title)?

NO — Stop. Not filed late. YES - Continue to #2
No Late Penalty

2. Is the vehicle titled in Texas?
NO — Stop. No Late Penalty YES - Continue to #3

3. Was the vehicle currently registered in Texas when it was transferred
(i.e. had valid Texas registration on the date of sale or transfer date)?

NO — Stop. No Late Penalty YES - Continue to #4

4. Do any of the exceptions below apply?
NO - Continue to #5 YES — Stop. No Late Penalty

EXCEPTIONS
DON'T CHARGE (Exempt from Penalties)

o Texas-titled vehicle that was unregistered at the time of sale (including vehicles
issued “Title Only”)

« Vehicle eligible for Antique or Classic license Plates (passenger, truck, or
motorcycle that is 25 model years old or older)

« New vehicles transferred on MCOs

o Out-of-state transfers (O/S evidence of ownership surrendered) including Texas
title transfers executed out-of-state

« US Government Vehicles (Federal or State Form 97 surrendered)

« Motor vehicle dealer applying for title & registration in the dealership name

« Exempt agency applying
« Exempt agency selling to a non-exempt purchaser

o« Transfers by Operation of Law (i.e. court orders, repossession,
Affidavit of Heirship)

« Corrected title transactions (no transfer of ownership)

o Off-highway motorcycle

e ATV

« Insurance company application on stolen vehicle (only if due to claim being paid)

o Transfers when salvage ownership document surrendered (Texas or out-of-state
Salvage Title, Nonrepairable Title, Salvage Certificate, etc.)

« Non-titled vehicles such as trailers, semitrailers, farm trailers & farm semitrailers,
and vehicle issued PERMIT or MACHINERY license plates
--- Continued on next page ---
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5. Collect the appropriate late fees and late transfer penalties as follows:

a. Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer:
Is the transaction being filed by a licensed motor vehicle dealer on behalf of
their customer?

NO — Continue to b. YES - Charge $10 late fee only.
On the Title Additional Info screen (TTLO0O08)
select “Charge Transfer Penalty”

b. Active Duty Military:
Is the transaction being filed by a person who is active duty military? This
includes:

- Members of the armed forces of the United States

- Members of the Texas National Guard or the National Guard of another
state serving on active duty under an order of the president of the
United States

- Members of a reserve component of the armed forces of the
United States serving on active duty under an order of the president of
the United States

NO — Continue to c. YES - Late penalties apply only if it has been 61 work
days or longer since the date of sale or
transfer (date on title assignment)

61°'work day or later —

Late Penalty = $25 + $25 for each additional
30-day period (or portion of a 30-day period)

Collect through Additional Collections.

Select Account Code — DELQ TRANS PENALTY
2008 from the Select Fee Description drop-down
menu and enter amount of penalty.

c. General Public:
If none of the exceptions or situations listed above applies, collect the penalties
based on how long it has been since the date of sale (date of assignment on
title) as follows:

Days After Transfer Late Penalty

21°' to 31°" work day = $25

$25 + $25 for each additional 30-day period
(or portion of a 30-day period)

32" work day or later = Collect through Additional Collections. Select
Account Code — DELQ TRANS PENALTY
2008 from the Select Fee Description drop-
down menu and enter amount of penalty.
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EXAMPLE

Vehicle Sold- June 4, 2008
Registration expires - July 1, 2008
Transaction Filed — October 4, 2008

The transaction was filed 80 work days after the date of sale. If filed by:
1. Motor vehicle dealer on behalf of the customer the late fee is $10.

2. Active duty military member, the late fee would be:
$25 (61 day after sale)
+ $25 (portion of a 30-day period)
$50

3. General Public — the late fee would be:
$25 (21° to 31°% work day)
+ $50 (2 X $25 for each additional 30-day period)
$75




