Texas Department of Transportation

VEHICLE TITLES AND REGISTRATION DIVISION e AUSTIN, TEXAS 78779-0001 e (512) 465-7611

June 20, 2000

Registration and Title Bulletin # 53-00
TO: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors
SUBJECT: Vebhicle Scrappage Program

PURPOSE
To advise you of rules recently adopted by the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (TNRCC).

DETAILS:

The TNRCC recently adopted rules under 30 TAC, Sections 114.211 - 114.217, and 114.219 concerning a revised
Inspection/Maintenance (/M) program in the El Paso and Houston-Galveston ozone nonattainment areas, and in the 12-county
Dallas-Ft. Worth consolidated metropolitan statistical area (CMSA). These rules included Mobile Emission Reduction Credits fora
Vehicle Scrappage Program.

The Vehicle Scrappage Program relates to a voluntary accelerated vehicle retirement (VAVR) program for on-road motor vehicles,
including passenger cars and light-duty trucks, used as a control measure for the nonattainment area(s) state implementation plan
(SIP). To be eligible, the vehicle must be registered with TxDOT for the past immediate 12 consecutive months to an address within
a participating county in which the VAVR program is being operated. Determination of an individual vehicle registration history
shall be based on registration data obtained from TxDOT records or copies of applicable vehicle registration certificates.

The rules state that a vehicle purchased by a recycler/demolisher must be operable and meet certain inspection requirements to be
eligible for the program. The vehicle shall be permanently destroyed within 60 days of the date the vehicle is sold to the
recycler/demolisher. The vehicle may not be resold to the public or put into operation in any way; however, the rules do allow for the
resale of non-pollutant used parts, such as frames, doors, fenders, cabs, hoods, trunk lids, etc.

The recycler/demolisher is required to obtain a salvage vehicle inventory number from the nearest Vehicle Titles and Registration
Division Regional Office and to obtain a valid ownership document (Texas Original or Certified Copy Certificate of Title, Original or
Duplicate Texas Salvage Certificate, Original or Certified Copy Texas Salvage Certificate of Title, Original or Certified Copy
Nonrepairable Certificate of Title, Original or Duplicate Certificate of Authority, Original Auction Sales Receipt [Form VTR71-1], or
comparable original or duplicate out-of-state ownership documents) from the owner and to surrender such documents to TxDOT
every 60 days.

CONTACT(S)

For information concerning the voluntary accelerated vehicle retirement program, please contact TNRCC at 888/295-0141 (toll free).
For additional information, please contact your local TXDOT Vehicle Titles and Registration Division Regional Office. Thank you
very much.

Sincerely,

Dt Huat

1“ Jerry L. Dike, Director
Vehicle Titles and
Registration Division

cc: All Law Enforcement Agencies

Salvage Associations/Industries
Ms. Kim Herndon, TNRCC

An Equal Opportunity Employer



