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Reminder: Vehicle Title & Registration Waiver Ends April 14, 2021 

Texans have until the end of that day to complete overdue transactions  
 

(AUSTIN, Texas – February 12, 2021) If you’re overdue, it’s time to renew! The temporary waiver of certain vehicle title 
and registration requirements, announced by Governor Greg Abbott on March 16, 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, 
will end at 11:59 p.m. on April 14, 2021. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) reminds Texans to complete 
any overdue transactions now. 
 
“It is not necessary to wait until the deadline,” said TxDMV Executive Director Whitney Brewster. “The Texas 
Department of Motor Vehicles continued to offer registration renewal and other important services throughout the 
waiver period. Fortunately, many Texans are already in compliance with the requirements.” 
 
Three ways to renew your vehicle registration: 
 

1) Online: Visit www.TxDMV.gov or www.Texas.gov. This is the quickest and least expensive way to renew. Save $1 

if you renew online. Online renewal is available up to nine months past your registration expiration date. 

 

2) Mail: Return the bottom portion of your registration renewal form, payment and other required information to 

your county tax assessor-collector. 

 

3) In Person: Visit the office of your county tax assessor-collector. In many counties, in-person renewal is also 

available at other locations, such as certain grocery stores. Contact your county tax office to check hours and 

locations. 

Reminder: Before renewing registration, Texans will need to obtain a passing vehicle inspection at the state vehicle 
inspection station of their choice, unless their vehicle is exempt from inspection requirements. 
 
The expiring temporary waiver covers the following services: 
 

• Initial vehicle registration. 

• Vehicle registration renewal. 

• Vehicle titling. 

• Renewal of permanent disabled parking placards. 

• 30-day temporary permits. 

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles does not issue driver licenses or state ID cards. Texans should contact the 
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/ for these services.  
 
Note: This announcement is the 60-day notice that normal registration, titling and related requirements have resumed, 
and the waiver of these requirements will end on April 14, 2021. 
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Multimedia Elements:  
 
 

 
 

Sample Vehicle Registration Sticker 
 

Registration and Inspection Deadline Chart [Click to enlarge.] 
 

https://www.txdmv.gov/sites/default/files/body-files/Renewal_Deadlines_Chart.pdf
https://www.txdmv.gov/sites/default/files/body-files/Renewal_Deadlines_Chart.pdf
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Subscribe to receive TxDMV news releases via email or text message. 
 

--- 
 
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles registers and titles motor vehicles, licenses motor vehicle dealers, credentials 
motor carriers, issues oversize/overweight permits, investigates complaints against dealers and motor carriers, and 
awards grants to law enforcement agencies to reduce vehicle burglaries and thefts. Learn more at www.TxDMV.gov. 
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